We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go out of your way”
Review of Torture Museum

Torture Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.91*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Ranked #348 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Happened upon this place and thought 'why not'. To be honest it was 'just ok'.
The instruments of torture on display made you wince (even before reading the usage description in some cases) and I guess it provided food for thought but I really wouldn't go out of your way to visit here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    63
    137
    144
    105
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Walked around this in about 15 minutes. Not really worth the money. Little to see and a bit of a disappointment

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neither good nor bad”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you have some spare time and looking to fill it, i would suggest going here.
From memory, the entry fee wasn't too expensive.
It's not a great museum... More of just a time killer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lanananaetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Torture at the Torture Museum”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Five euros felt like a bargain however, when I arrived at the attraction, it appeared very run down and, the inside of the museum matched! Honestly, I felt like someone had shoved all these torture instruments and images together before using Wikipedia to see what each was about...it was honestly boring, I expected so much more interaction! I was so bored that I physically felt like the establishment was torturing me that way!

This attraction is one I would have preferred not to visit and, its definitely not a location to take the kids either as its a "look but don't touch" place and its very boring for an adult, let alone a child

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jfizzable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crap”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a total waste of time and money while in Amsterdam - Its is less of a museum and more like someone has literally taken literature from Wikipedea, printed the page and stuck the information in a frame and then hung it to a wall, there are a few 'Torture pieces' in there however I very much doubt these were ever used and are more than likely home made or replica's

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torture Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Torture Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing