We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place on the Canal!”
other travelers have booked this property
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Watch the boats and cyclist go by
Awesome views
Shared entrance
Jack and Jill bathroom
Bedroom with ample cabinet space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Place on the Canal!”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We are a family of 5 grown people and found the apt perfect for our needs.
Wytse is a great host and even arranged for a boat tour of the canals with
a charming friend of his! The only issue was your fault for bring such hear suitcases
that we carried up the narrow stairs. We would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Thanks, it was great having you and dont forget to come back soon ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary1801
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment and Location”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A charming host that has thought of everything for an enjoyable stay. Great location within easy walking distance to many if not all major attractions. We would rent this apartment again if we return to Amsterdam.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much better than a hotel.”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with some members of my family last December. Normally stay in a hotel but thought that this would be much more fun. We were right ;-) The location of this house is just perfect. Everything you need is "on your doorstep". It definitely feels like a home away from home. It was very clean and well equipped. There was a warm welcome when we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. I would have no problem recommending this house. Thank you AGAIN Wijtse and your wonderful parents for making our stay in Amsterdam more memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine...
San Diego/Carlsbad
2 reviews
“Best location in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Thank you Wytse for sharing your wonderful apartment with us. We couldn't have stayed in a better spot - it was so close to everything! Everything we needed was provided and was perfect for all 6 of us. It was so lovely to meet your kind and hospitable parents as well. We loved having the Lighting Exhibit outside and would watch the many canal boats go by. It felt like home. We loved shopping in the 9 little streets district too. We will have to return next time during the warmer months. Everyone is so kind in Amsterdam! Thank you again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susiecath...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location and great house!”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in this lovely house for our work team Christmas party weekend and it didn't disappoint. The house is spacious and stunning with beautiful views of the canal (made even more special by the light festival). The house is well furnished and equipped, with three bedrooms over two floors. I can highly recommend for those who are looking for a traditional Amsterdam property that's in walking distance of the best places in town!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWoo...
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent House”
Reviewed December 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Grand Sonnenberg House in December 2016 with 3 friends. The house was lovely, well equipped and very clean. The location was a massive plus point, within easy reach of all of Amsterdam's main attractions.

The only negative would be that 1 bathroom was only just about ok, had there been 6 of us we would have struggled. The bathroom is located between 2 of the bedrooms and there's no lock on the door so everybody had to be made aware when you were using it so that they didn't burst in! The stairs are extremely steep so definitely not recommended if you are not fit and healthy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennInSD
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Historic Home in Great Location”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This property was a great find! My husband and I along with our 4 adult children stayed at the Grand Sonnenberg for two nights prior to taking a Baltic Sea cruise. We wish we could have stayed longer. The property was perfect and in a perfect location to walk everywhere, which we did! Although the shower was small for our very tall guys, it was still fine. The property was clean, spacious and exactly as described. The location couldn't have been better. We would definitely stay here again. Wyste allowed us our privacy, yet was there when we had questions and was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location! And the fact that the building was 400+years old
Liked least: Nothing negative to report.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing