We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb😀😀”
other travelers have booked this property
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Sonnenberg amidst original canal houses
Watch the boats and cyclist go by
Awesome views
Shared entrance
Jack and Jill bathroom
Bedroom with ample cabinet space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Marcia M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb😀😀”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 4 adults who stayed in this Canal House whilst visiting Amsterdam. Wytse was very accommodating and helpful. Herengracht area is a great location, safe and an exclusive part of Amsterdam with beautiful views of the canal from the living room window. The canal house is in a superb location to walk to all the surrounding areas of interest in Amsterdam. The house is spacious and comfortable with 3 bedrooms, a large living room and dining room, kitchen and bathroom with a second toilet on the first floor. Just the fact that we were staying in a canal house 400 years old was an experience in itself - including the stairs, which we got used to quite quickly! The whole experience was amazing and our accommodation in the Grand Sonnenberg Apartment made our stay in Amsterdam superb and exciting - highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodaE541
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Historic, A True Feel of Amsterdam"”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a privilege it was to stay at the Grand Sonnenberg. First, Wyste, is a wonderful host and so helpful. The house has been newly painted and is perfect in every way. Great location! Beautiful views. Just be aware of the many small narrow steps throughout. Thank you Wyste for sharing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the property and it's location.
Liked least: The stairs.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiMac7
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here recently with a group of friends. The apartment is ideally located and very central for all the tourist areas. The location is beautiful with great views onto one of Amsterdam's many canals. The apartment itself is very traditional but has modern conveniences. The owner was very helpful when required. I Would recommend this apartment and would stay here again. Such a great city to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweenmari...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely area, lovely accommodation, lovely city.”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Accommodation was perfect, very clean and furnished to a high standard. Bedding was nice and colourful and plenty of towels available. Anything required, the owner was on hand. Travel to all parts of Amsterdam really easy with the trams being a two minute walk alongside the supermarket and lots of choices to eat out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No comment to make
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justhe4of...
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, unparalleled location”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This comfortable flat is on the upper three floors of a beautiful old canal house in the most scenic part of Amsterdam. Wytse made arranging our stay very easy; he was away the day we arrived, but ensured that a friend met us at the apartment to hand off the keys and tell us what we needed to know. Everything we wanted to see in Amsterdam was an easy walk from the front door. The bedding could have been more comfortable (slightly scratchy sheets and lumpy pillows), and the small kitchen has limited facilities (although it includes a nice coffeemaker!), but those were the only real drawbacks to the flat, which was otherwise clean and spacious. And there are loads of excellent places to eat nearby, everything from pancake houses to high-end restaurants, so we weren't interested in cooking anyway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, authentic old Dutch canal house; fabulous location
Liked least: bedding
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia V
1 review
“Best accommodation!”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our family of six from Australia spent a week in this lovely canal home. Wyste was really easy to organise the booking and gave us great local information. This apartment has a great vibe to it and is in the best location! Looking out on the canal was a daily highlight. Once out the door, we were spoilt for choice in restaurants and could walk easily to a range of great tourist spots. We fell in love with Amsterdam and the joy of staying in a 400 year old canal home on the famous Herengracht.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel_We...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome Authentic Dutch Canal House Experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

One of my wishes when visiting Amsterdam was to stay in a traditional Dutch canal house. Grand Sonnenberg didn't disappoint! The location was fantastic and the apartment was perfect. Yes the spiral stairs can be a bit tricky to navigate with your luggage, but no different to any other canal house. We were able to walk to everything that we wanted to see in the Amsterdam central district from here. The view of the canal was picture perfect. We were also lucky enough to visit at Christmas time and the canal and neighbouring windows were all beautifully lit up.
Wytse was a great host right from the initial enquiry providing great communication and peace of mind. On arrival he provided us with pretty much everything we needed to know to get ourselves settled.
Travelling in a group of 6, including 3 children and a grandmother, we had plenty of space for everyone. The apartment was spacious and warm and had enough towels, linen, and basic essentials to make you feel more than comfortable.
I would definitely recommend Grand Sonnenberg and would stay there again if I had the opportunity to visit Amsterdam again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful canal house experience
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing