We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fan-Boat-stic place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
De Dageraad
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
De Dageraad
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
De Dageraad
Breakfastroom
Kitchenette
room 1
breakfastroom
hallway
room 2
bathroom room 2
room 2
room 2
kitchenette
bathroom room 1
room 2
breakfast on the sundeck
our renovated boat on the best spot of the harbor
Own entrance Boat&Breakfast
Prow of the ship and sun-deck for guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
1Dayton3
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Fan-Boat-stic place to stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our host were super and the breakfast each morning was fantastic. My wife thinks that a Hampton Inn is camping so she was a little leery staying on a house boat. After our stay she loved it. Sylvia & Theo our great host and really care about your comfort and the breakfast they drop off each morning.

The location is at the end of the canal going into the bigger travel lanes for barges and other boats. That makes sitting on deck and watching everything more interesting. The deck at night was very nice to sit on and just relax. being on the end of the dock makes this area very quiet and peaceful. Since it was warm we had the portholes open and fans running (30 plus C). There were a couple of ducks that around sunrise would squawk a little and wake me but afterwards I would fall back asleep.

It was about 10-12 minutes depending on how fast you walk to the tram stop which takes you everywhere you want to go in Amsterdam. The number 10 was very good to get around to most areas and easy to switch off to other trams to cross thru town. There is also a Metro that we used as well. A word of caution if you do not ride bikes a lot and then think you can ride around town - bike lanes are part of the sidewalk or road and scooters use them as well look both ways before walking or crossing. Do not try to ride around on a bike if you do not cycle a lot. Dumb idea and the local riders which is most of the population think you are dangerous. We saw many tourist who should not have been on a bike. You can get around by tram or metro just as easy.

We loved the people of Amsterdam they are friendly and most speak incredible English, better than most of us. Try the Poofertjes and dutch pancakes - amazing
IF we are back in Amsterdam we would definitely stay on the boat again. Thanks to Sylvia and Theo for making our stay so nice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene30
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at de Dageraad for three nights before going on a Rhine River cruise and we very much enjoyed staying there. It's a very good location if you want a quiet location and want to be a little ways away from central Amsterdam, yet just a five or ten minute walk to the nearest tram stop. Theo and Sylvia are very nice and helpful, both before we arrived there and during our stay. The communication with them was great. And I can't say enough about the wonderful breakfasts that they prepared for us every day! We also appreciated their thoughtfulness in giving us a bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Thanks Theo and Sylvia for making our stay in Amsterdam so special!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi C
1 review
“Great boat, great people, worth every penny!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed on Easter weekend and found such a lovely boat, with a fantastic view, spacious bedrooms, great breakfast, very friendly and helpful owners, a good location and so easy to a find tram to the centre! I have recommended the Dageraad to friends and family already and we would definitely stay again! Thank you Sylvia and Theo.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soppelbot...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam bash”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a birthday bash/visit weekend in Amsterdam and what a lovely experience we had staying at the de Dageraad. There are two very nice bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchenette. Just a 5 minute walk to the nearest Tram stop giving access to all Amsterdam. One of the highlights of staying aboard de Dageraad is the superb breakfast selection that Sylvia and Theo (the owners) provide in the morning, the quality is second to none.
Summary: great location, beautiful ship, excellent accommodation, warm hospitality, outstanding breakfast selection, wi-fi/internet connection, you could not ask for better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thanks for your kind words. We loved to have you on our ship. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Sylvia&Theo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJSC3636
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding !”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a great week in Amsterdam and what a great experience we had staying at the de Dageraad. Two very nice and cozy bedrooms with very fast internet connection and a fully equipped kitchenette. Just a 5 minute walk to the nearest Tram Station with access to all Amsterdam via public transportation. One of the highlights of staying aboard de Dageraad is the magnificent breakfast selection that Sylvia and Theo (the owners) offer every morning, every detail is considered and the quality is second to none. Summary: great location, beautiful ship, excellent accommodations, warm hospitality, outstanding breakfast selection, super fast wi-fi/internet connection, simply could not ask for a better experience in Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sylvia and Theo (the owners) hospitality
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynda D
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb hosts, spotlessly clean room, beautifully decorated barge, yummy breakast, highly recommend”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful city; not overcrowded; bikes rule, fit and friendly and most helpful people, well run city, Bit scary that mopeds share same cycle path as cyclists (my only complaint as nearly run over twice by mopeds speeding past me on my bike). Will definitely visit again. lovely prosecco and bics on arrival(twice!) Lyn & Bruce from South of UK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: mopeds on cycle paths
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyproulla...
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect, going back again!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great hospitality, very friendly and nice with children.
Is located in a great quiet spot with very nice view.
Great and tasteful breakfast.
We are definitely going back again

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing