We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #123 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend and we were very impressed with the quality of the hotel room. We were greeted very pleasantly at the reception and check in was smooth. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and let me borrow an adapter too! The room was chic and stylish and the view from the balcony was lovely. Breakfast is good too. Location is slightly out from the centre however it's within easy walking distance and also trams are everywhere to jump on so no issues with this. The staff also made a birthday cake for my husband as it was his birthday whilst we were there. It was delicious and very much appreciated, thank you. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jen1984sep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words. We are really happy to hear that we could help you with the birthday cake and you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Looking forward te welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    439
    173
    58
    47
See reviews for
125
638
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice hotel in a really good location a short walk away from the centre which means you are away from the crowd and noise, yet just a 10-15 min walk away. The area generally felt safe to walk around even late at night. There are quite a few bars, cafes and restaurants around.


We arrived around 11:00 in the morning, way earlier than the checkout time, and left our bags behind.. The staff are reception speak very good English and are very friendly and helpful. Reception also provide a map of Amsterdam with the highlights and the receptionist who checked us in drew walking routes to the nearest tram and bus stops.

We booked a Deluxe Double room which was on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard. The room itself had a very modern feel and was decorated well. The En-suite bathroom was very clean with essential toiletries provided as complimentary. There is TV, and a mini fridge in the room with two complimentary bottles of water.

There is plenty of storage / closet space and an electronic number lock safe is provided too to store valuables.


The Bed was comfortable, but a bit disappointed as two single mattresses were joined together, and you could feel the seams if you rolled on to the middle. The room had a pretty silent aircon with its own control.

The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice which included cereal, salads, cheeses, juices tea-coffee, fruit yogurt, continental patisserie, toast, boiled eggs, and fried or scrambled eggs,


Wi-Fi is complementary and the speed and cover is pretty good from my experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for this detailed review. We really appreciate this as it helps us to keep improving our service. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will take your feedback about the matress into account. Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you will visit Amsterdam in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lovely little hotel in a really good location. some nice bars around. Quiet area which felt safe to walk around in. Not many facilities in the hotel itself. Rooms were modern, clean and had everything in them that you needed. Beds very comfy. Walls a little thin though! But the hotel itself had a general quiet feel to it. (Maybe we just had an exceptionally loud couple next to us!) Staff very nice & helpful. I would go back there again & think it is good value for money. Ate breakfast one day, good food and convenient but not cheap. There is a really nice cafe down the road called Dimitri's that do a really good breakfast at a good price, we ate there the rest of the time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you will return to our hotel. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Yes, the room was a little small and certainly expensive, but it is typical European travel. Most importantly, the room was clean. It had a fresh feel about it and was roomy enough for a brief stay. The staff was friendly. Its location is fairly convenient with access to local shops and sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJN612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. This is really appreciated. Good to hear you enjoyed the room. I would like to advise you to book a penthouse next time. These rooms are larger and situated on the sixth floor with a private terrace.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My friend and I stayed 1 night and we were welcomed by very friendly staff. The standard double room was contemporary and spotlessly clean with a comfy bed. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and for the £46 per night we paid it was perfect.

The location is a bit of a walk from the main bars and restaurants but you can hop on a tram 1-2 stops. Ideal for museums and beautiful park.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleS703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. This is really appreciated as it helps us to keep improving our service. Please come and visit our hotel again when you will return to Amsterdam, we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was just outside the "main" area - about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main shopping district. We found the hotel with no problems but I had read some previous reviews that it was difficult to find. It was not difficult if you have any sense of sight and direction (although the street names are a little challenge). The check in process was easy; however, the first time navigating to our room was like a maze (but with no turns). Our room ended up being great (Junior Suite on bottom floor). It had 2 of the most comfortable beds/pillows, 2 little couches, big TV, storage space/closet, in room safe and a great bathroom (heated floors). We did not pay for the breakfast in the hotel but it looked good. Instead, we opted to eat at some of the little local cafes all around the hotel. We also found some great neighborhood bars in the evening. I would recommend this hotel because it was very clean, nice staff (provided a map of Amsterdam with interesting sights) and it was extremely quiet. Once we were in our room, we never heard any other hotel guests. Because it was not in the main "tourist" area, people we met were very friendly and helpful (i.e., if they saw you standing looking at a map they would offer to help you locate where you wanted to go).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPAscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! That makes us really happy. Thank you for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I selected this hotel because it is located just outside the city center (thus avoiding night noises from the bars and discotheques) . The Leidseplein is a 5-10 mins walks or easy to reach by tram)

Reception: professional , friendly and quick

Rooms: clean , noiseless airco,

Bathroom: clean and towels

Minibar: only two bottles of water

Disappointments:
hotel has a parking , but using it is a fuzz

Breakfast: is disappointing for this class of hotels

Would I use it again: probable not

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to reduce noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinylmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing this review and feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you won't be using our hotel probably. We really hoped that we could exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the parking is taken into account and we will discuss this with our contact person of the parking. The parking belongs to the City of Amsterdam.
Togheter with our breakfast employees and manager we are brainstorming what we could improve so your feedback was really helpfull. Despite the fact that you won't be returning back to the hotel we would still love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#186 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing