We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #131 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Somersham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay here.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was stylish and well equipped. The bathroom was especially nice with good quality toiletries and under floor heating. (lovely in the middle of the night!) The large bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Free Wi-Fi is also offered.
The staff from reception to room servicing were all friendly and very helpful. There was plenty of information cards that also gave you a discount on lots of things to do. It is only a short walk to catch a tram into the centre, but also a very pleasant walk along the canals that will take you to the same areas. Would stay here again and recommend to any travellers.
The hotel does provide breakfast at an extra cost, but we did not try this, however it did look to have a good choice available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandav55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you very much for you nice comments and recommendation. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Don't hesitate to book breakfast next time. If you pre-book it you will receive a discount. If you first want to try it you could also decide upon arrival and experience the breakfast first.
Really looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    519
    196
    67
    57
See reviews for
149
743
57
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights for short break away. The room was clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is good, only a short walk away from the square where there was plenty of pubs, shops and restaurants as well as a tram stop. Information on local attractions is available in the hotel to which is useful. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others :)

Room Tip: Rooms above reception - more privacy and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstar182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation. This is really appreciated. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed in one of the penthouse suites over the Easter break with a great view over Amsterdam city.
The hotel is well kept and the staff friendly and helpful.
The hotel does do breakfast, but I'm not a breakfast person. However, there are quite a few eateries in the area so there won't be a need to go without.
The hotel is conveniently located for trams and the three museums(Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Stedelijk).
It also has the Vondelpark nearby if you fancy a lazy afternoon communing with nature.
If you don't mind a bit of a walk, central Amsterdam can be reached in 15-20mins by foot; although a tram might be quicker.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun2624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate this. Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you will visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great location just ten minute walk to Leidensplein and short walk to tram stop. Rooms were very modern and comfortable, fantastic shower and comfortable bed. Would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMW2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Room 129 , you actualy need a gps to get there to your room after a long walk in the hallways ... room size look like 2stars or 3 stars maximum, no windows can be opened behind the bed a very big window has a yard view on the motorcycles and bikes , locked to the fence gives you a feeling that you are detained in your booth, shower also had some problems no need to mention. Do yourself a favour and stay in another hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Samer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
I am really sorry to hear that we could not exceed your expectations. I read that you had trouble with finding the room. Room 129 is the last room of this floor. From the lobby it is one way, by following the corridor. We will take this feedback into account and considering directions in the corridors.
The roomsize is a standard size that fits the Dutch regulations for a standard room in a 4 star hotel. If you prefer a bigger room I would like to advise you to book a deluxe room or a penthouse. These rooms are bigger then the standard rooms.
Because this room is situated on the ground floor the window can't be open due to security reasons. But the airconditiong regulates fresh air 24/7. Our penthouses are situated on the sixth floor and have their own private terrace and windows that can be opened.
The hotel is situated in Oud-West were lots of locals live. As you may have noticed, almost everyone in Amsterdam has a bicycle and park their bicycle wherever they like. So there is a possibility that this took away your view and I am really sorry to hear. For they view I would also recommend the pernhouse because they have a view over Amsterdam.
You are more then welcome to contact me personally to share your experience and I will take all your feedback into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,418 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#172 of 367 in Amsterdam
330 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#127 of 367 in Amsterdam
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Hotel Arena
#68 of 367 in Amsterdam
409 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 367 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing