We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #124 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A great example of Dutch space management. Small but ample and functional space, well appointed in simple but good taste. Comfortable bed and surroundings, with friendly and helpful staff. Well located, within a 7 minute walk from Leidsplein, and Amsterdam is your oyster from there.
This room, #110, does not have a TV. No big deal, but a strange detail, coming from North America. Free WiFi helps, if you have a device. Shower kept overflowing. Seems to be a common thread throughout the reviews. Upon inspection, its just the shower design that is poorly designed, with the drain not allowing enough waste water disposal and exterior lip of the ceramic not being high enough to stop the over flow. Go figure, we're in Holland...dykes and things.
Overall, a pleasant user experience that I feel comfortable recommending in Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank Quintanova
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation. This is really appreciated. I would like to inform you that we have contacted a company that will check all the drains and pipes this week.
We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    439
    173
    58
    47
See reviews for
125
638
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Decent hotel, was hard to find due to lack of signage. The building is shared with another hotel which seems to advertise there hotel a lot better. We had to look 2 or 3 times for the hotel once we had the location.

Would be much better if the hotel offered any type of gym/spa but cant have everything.

It's a little far out away from the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre but close enough so your only 5-7 stops from the centre. 10 mins on a tram and your there.

Within walking distance of the hotel is a few nice restaurants, bakeries which were perfect for fresh croissants for early morning breakfast. and a lovely park which was great on the hot sunny weekend.

I was on the top floor penthouse with a roof balcony which was perfect. Great Amsterdam views.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalkyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We contacted a company a while ago and they designed advertisement for us to place above the entrance of the hotel to stand out. As soon as they actually placed it (which will be in a few weeks) you can find the pictures on our facebook.
We would love to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Early arrival at reception was greeted with a friendly welcome and we were in the room over 1 hour before schedule. Check in smooth. Room was clean, modern and spacious. Staff very helpful. Although laptop safe had been left locked and open by previous occupant, this was quickly rectified. Only one minor issue - duvet for double bed was not big enough - it barely reached the edges of the bed! Great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank TheUKwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and nice comments. We really appreciate this. Great to hear that we could provide you an extra smooth check-in buy providing the room earlier then the normal check-in time. I would likt to inform you that we have ordered new duvets for all our queen and kingsize beds to make sure it will match the correct bed and that it is big enough.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in the large pent house suit, main reason I booked was due to the roof terrace. Lovely views across the city and so nice to sit outside in the morning with a coffee. The room was very nice, I thought It may have a separate living room area but it doesn't. However it was a large room with lovely decor. Bathroom was nice however had odd holes in tiles? A short distance out of the center but only a short tram ride away. Overall lovely hotel and would book again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isit5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review and feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the penthouse and the view from the terrace. The odd wholes in the bathroom are for the bathtube. The bathtub will be placed in a few weeks and the wholes are preparation for to connect the bathtub in a few weeks.
We are looking forward to welcome you back when you will visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in Amsterdam, and was very pleased with this hotel. The location is very good, about a 5min walk from the trams and walkable into the centre is under half an hour.
I was concerned that the room would be noisy as we were on the ground floor near to the restaurant but we weren't affected by this is the least.
The room was small but very clean and the bed very comfortable, it was a nice touch to have a chocolate on both our pillows upon arrival. The shower in our bathroom didn't have the best seal and so you had to be careful about long showers-put a towel down! On the upside the bathroom had lovely heated floors!
Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeLee883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review and recommendation. This is really appreciated. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. About the shower I would like to inform you that our maintenance department checked all the showers and changed the rubbers if neccessary.
Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I strongly recommend you stay away from this hotel.

This was my first time to Amsterdam (and to Europe), and the hotel stay really put a dampener on my stay. My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over the Valentines day weekend (13th-17th Feb). Paid normal prices, so not a budget hotel.

On the first night, I hopped out of the shower after 2 minutes because the entire bathroom floor was filling up with water. After waiting for 2 hours, to see if we could switch rooms, it wasn't possible because the hotel was completely booked out. What was worse was the male staff was already aware that this room had issues, and had said that he had called the manager to come in, but they never did (another 30 minutes wasted), so eventually, I was allowed to go to another room to shower there for the night. The male staff promised that it would be fixed on Friday morning and although inconvenient, I wasted two hours waiting for an outcome, as well as having to walk on very cold wet bathroom floor.

On the second day, I could not shower, as the draining was being fixed that morning which I understood. However by night time, when my partner arrived, we both went into our room, and I went to shower first, and, the floor flooded again. This was verified by the gentlemen who worked at reception as he was present both on Thursday and Friday night. He brought us 5 towels and apologised, describing the situation as being 'completely' ridiculous and apologized again as he thought he would have been fixed by now. He actually wiped the floor along with my partner. We asked him to bring us another 5 towels for the morning so that he could shower then.

On the third day, again, we told reception and they (the Manager) agreed that this was a complete joke and that it would definitely be fixed today while we were out. That night as we went to shower, again, flooding.

When we checked out on the fourth day, the manager (who apparently has no right to do anything) had to wait until the owner came back. That's when we received a disgraceful email saying the problem was actually fixed up on the first night and there was in fact never a problem after that.

Umm..how was it fixed when we had to mop up the floor each night? They tried to get away with it in their final email saying the drain didn't work the first night, and then the rubber on the shower didn't work each night thereafter. With no explanation during our stay that we should just have our normal shower, we were forced to take quick shower in fear of the water getting onto the wooden floors, I had to condition my hair and wash my face in the sink (and all this in the winter). The floors were wet each night, had to tiptoe around so avoid the puddles and wet towels.

It is so pathetic that the hotel management tried to deflect the blame away from them, and are now adamant there was no problem after the first night. I have to beg to differ (and so should the staff) who had to get down on his knees mopping up on the second night. No flooding? But the staff are apologising for the flooding profusely while mopping up the water which wasn't drained?

Pathetic hotel. I will make sure all my friends, families, and people travelling stay aware.

Never got any compensation, or offer of a room change. (Note that they said no rooms were available, but I watched an irrate customer check out on our second day there as she was unhappy with the hotel in the first place.

Lies and more lies from this hotel.

I've attached photos of the shower on the third night after one minute. Seriously.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smyleemylee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for writing down your experience in the hotel. Once again I would like to apologize for this situation. It was a technical problem, the rubber was not working properly, and we did everything we could to fix it. As you describe we went to the room every day to solve the problem. The maintenance department checked it again and we fixed the rubber immidiately.
That day we were fully booked and were not able the asign you a different room.
To compensate the inconvenience we offered you to refund the city tax upon the day itself. Please contact me via email if you would like to talk about this feedback and would still like to accept the compensation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

4 night valentines break at the Grand Hotel Downtown.

I have given the hotel an Average rating but would choose a Good rating if there was one (as opposed to Very Good).

Positives:
Helpful reception staff
Efficient checkin and checkout
Tour & ticket, restaurant, taxi reservation service
Modern and clean hotel
Plenty of cafes & restaurants within easy walking distance
Tram stops are close by
Comfy bed and good shower
Room 606 provided a quiet nights sleep
Free wifi
We didn't have hotel breakfast so cannot comment.

Negatives:
We booked a Penthouse Suite (room 606). Nice room but not a PS. Small room and no seating/lounge area. Cramped!
Shared outside terrace (no privacy and can see into other rooms!)
No bath robes
Complimentary water only on 1st day
6 hangers and limited storage
Room 606 is in a separate building (which is shared with another hotel) and accessed via an open courtyard (so you get wet if its raining getting from reception to your room)

Overall a Good hotel

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite disappointing. Choose a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penk_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. This is really appreciated as it helps us to keep improving our service. The size of the penthouses are standard and situated on the top floor. This explains the name we use for the rooms. All penthouses have shared terraces. The terraces will be divided as soon as possible bij 'gates'. We are in contact with a company that is an expert with this sort of things and will place this as soon as possible.
All our rooms are provided with bathrobes. If you can't find one inthe room please do not hesitate to contact our front office and they will provide you these next time. For now our housekeeping department will make a list of the stock and order new bathrobes if that is neccessary to be sure we have enough.
Your feedback about the storage and complimentary water is taken into account and we will discuss with the management what we couldn do to improve this.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#183 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#93 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing