We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel, really comfy bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #121 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, really comfy bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We were really pleased when we arrived. Our room was lovely, the bathroom was very modern with a large shower and heated floor and the bed was so comfortable! Rooms are pretty close together and we did occasionally hear people in the rooms either side of us. On the first night we were woken up at 5am by people checking into the room next door (one of them was shouting). We called reception who were apologetic and they must have told them to be quiet as we didn't hear anything else after that! Amsterdam is so compact that you're never very far from anywhere and we really liked the hotel's location. It's on a very trendy street with loads of bars, shops and eating places and in our opinion this is much better than staying right in the centre. There are tram stops on the street if you don't want to walk but we enjoyed wandering everywhere and discovering new places along the way! The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful and we'll definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaBoo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We really appreciate this as it helps us to keep improving our service. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and you will be coming back in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    414
    164
    56
    43
See reviews for
115
603
50
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here with my friend for 3 nights. Our penthouse hotel room was a nice size, clean and had a great terrace outside! The staff were friendly and even brought us a bottle of bubbly to celebrate my friends birthday which we really appreciated!!
If I could give one but of criticism it would be the length of the hair dryer wire was so short so I would suggest taking your own!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review and your nice words. Great to hear you loved your penthouse and had a nice birthday. Your feedback about the hairdryer is taken into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Not the cheapest, but good quality. Seems like all rooms are on the first floor. Our window opened up to a wide alley which allowed you to see a canal. Close to trams, but a little further walk to Leidseplein. Got there early (10 am) and they found us a room. Bathroom in room has heated floors. Water seemed to prefer to be very hot in shower, when only warm, not much strength.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonniemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. Besides rooms on the ground floor we also have penthouses on the sixth floor. These rooms have a terrace and an amazing view over Amsterdam.
Your feedback about the shower is communicated to the maintenace department and they will check all the bathrooms. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights after booking on Orbitz. We paid about 72 euros a night. The hotel is very nice, especially for what we paid. Like the name implies, the hotel is downtown near many of the restaurants and bars. From what I've experienced in Europe, the rooms here were rather large. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for you nice comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night, which was superb value paying only £35 for a double room - cheaper than any hotel in the UK! The location is good, the nearest tram stop is around the corner from the hotel and from there it takes about 5-10 minutes to reach the very centre of the city. Initial impressions were good, we arrived early at 11am to leave our luggage with reception, not expecting to be able to check in that early and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. The double room is very small, however has lots of facilities and is clean. The en-suite bathroom was perfectly adequate, although it was one of those annoying 'wet rooms' meaning that every time you use the shower, the whole bathroom floor gets wet. The walls in the bedrooms are very thin - in the middle of the night I was woken up by voices from the next door bedroom, which lasted about half an hour. I called the reception staff who asked them to be quiet, however it was a while before the voices stopped and I was able to get back to sleep. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall it was an excellent value hotel considering the price paid, however under no circumstances would I pay full price for a room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jm_1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. Good to hear that you had a good stay overall and our reception was friendly and helpfull. I passed on these compliments and they were very happy.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

room was good but a little squeezy. bed is very comfortable.
receptionist seems friendly and helpful but make a face behind us which i accidentally saw when i was about to ask her something then changed my mind later.
location is not bad although its quite far from city unless u take bus or tram.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. This isreally appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that the receptionist made a face. I discussed this with the entire team that this is really important that we have to pay attention to this. All our staff members don't have the intention to make fun of our guests and are proffesional. We would love to welcome you back when you return to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#181 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#97 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#95 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#120 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing