We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value, but don't expect a 4 star hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #129 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value, but don't expect a 4 star hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night, which was superb value paying only £35 for a double room - cheaper than any hotel in the UK! The location is good, the nearest tram stop is around the corner from the hotel and from there it takes about 5-10 minutes to reach the very centre of the city. Initial impressions were good, we arrived early at 11am to leave our luggage with reception, not expecting to be able to check in that early and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. The double room is very small, however has lots of facilities and is clean. The en-suite bathroom was perfectly adequate, although it was one of those annoying 'wet rooms' meaning that every time you use the shower, the whole bathroom floor gets wet. The walls in the bedrooms are very thin - in the middle of the night I was woken up by voices from the next door bedroom, which lasted about half an hour. I called the reception staff who asked them to be quiet, however it was a while before the voices stopped and I was able to get back to sleep. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall it was an excellent value hotel considering the price paid, however under no circumstances would I pay full price for a room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jm_1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. Good to hear that you had a good stay overall and our reception was friendly and helpfull. I passed on these compliments and they were very happy.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    381
    147
    54
    41
See reviews for
101
550
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

room was good but a little squeezy. bed is very comfortable.
receptionist seems friendly and helpful but make a face behind us which i accidentally saw when i was about to ask her something then changed my mind later.
location is not bad although its quite far from city unless u take bus or tram.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. This isreally appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that the receptionist made a face. I discussed this with the entire team that this is really important that we have to pay attention to this. All our staff members don't have the intention to make fun of our guests and are proffesional. We would love to welcome you back when you return to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Would recommend this hotel. Friendly staff at front desk. Room was very clean and comfortable to stay in. Wi-Fi worked well. We preferred to walk and the museums and Vondel Park are walking distance.
Only suggestion for hotel would be to have soap bar in bathroom. They did have liquid shampoo/ conditioner but were missing basic amenity. I would have given a 5 star rating, if basic amenities were provided.

Room Tip: If you need early check-in, make sure to request it before you check-in, as we did have to wait an 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We really appreciate this. I forwarded your nice words to the entire team and you made their day.
The amenities that are offered are in the junior suites and penthouses. If you upgrade the room we provide you new amenities every day. We will take this comment into account and discuss if we can also place the amenities in the other rooms.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A brilliant place to stay. Near train / tram stations, friendly front desk staff and the willingness attitude to help.
We stayed for 2 nights.
5 star for this place overall.
Definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Harwinderjit Si... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. I forwarded your compliments of the front desk to the entire team and they were very happy. Great to hear that you will be back in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#162 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Hotel Arena
#103 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#119 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: 1e Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing