We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveler rating
455
548
220
79
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
548
220
79
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousethe ground floorroof terracegreat hotelrecommend this hotelwithin walking distanceminute walkexcellent staybed was very comfortablereception staffmuseum districtmain attractionsvisit amsterdamtram stopstayed here for nightspublic transportcentral station
Filter
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Would recommend this hotel. Friendly staff at front desk. Room was very clean and comfortable to stay in. Wi-Fi worked well. We preferred to walk and the museums and Vondel Park are walking distance.
Only suggestion for hotel would be to have soap bar in bathroom. They did have liquid shampoo/ conditioner but were missing basic amenity. I would have given a 5 star rating, if basic amenities were provided.

Room Tip: If you need early check-in, make sure to request it before you check-in, as we did have to wait an 11/2 hr before we got our room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bharat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We really appreciate this. I forwarded your nice words to the entire team and you made their day.
The amenities that are offered are in the junior suites and penthouses. If you upgrade the room we provide you new amenities every day. We will take this comment into account and discuss if we can also place the amenities in the other rooms.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A brilliant place to stay. Near train / tram stations, friendly front desk staff and the willingness attitude to help.
We stayed for 2 nights.
5 star for this place overall.
Definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Harwinderjit Si... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review. I forwarded your compliments of the front desk to the entire team and they were very happy. Great to hear that you will be back in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for one night and have no grumbles at all,Great room,Great bathroom,Nice and quiet at night and we got it at a great price.

Would definitely stay again,Just a 5min tram ride (#17) into the City Centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scunnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you will return in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews