We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #129 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Lovely room, heated mirror, beautiful bathroom. Very clean and well maintained. Friendly staff. Great location. Excellent trips offered at discounted prices. Only two issues, noisy corridor so sleep is not a simple task and lady on reception took a lot of guidance to book trips. One trip, I read on ticket you had to book ahead, she said we needed to use our room phone. We said we would drop in to the venue to book, but could we be refunded if it's not available. She said no refunds and probs no availability for that night (we had bought tickets ) eventually she rang venue and booked us in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Catheryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. This helps us to improve our service and we really appreciate it. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. With regard to the noise I would like to inform that we had contact with a company that is an expert in noise reduction. We have come to a solution and they will fix this as soon as possible. Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    381
    147
    53
    41
See reviews for
101
550
42
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed one night here on a business trip. I wish I'd spent more time in the hotel but unfortunately work got in the way (darn work ha ha), Hotel is lovely! Rooms are welcoming and bathroom is clean and simply decorated. I loved the dark chocolate decor. The TV was a bit hard to find at first - it took me a while to realise that the mirrored wall in front of me doubled up as a Philips TV! I discovered it as I was holding the remote looking around whilst thinking "what kind of a hotel doesn't have a TV?!". The bed was SUPER comfy - four bouncy pillows - I'm definitely investing in those for my bedroom! There were bathrobes in the bathroom but I didn't use it - no time!. There are tea/coffee making facilities as well as a safe in the wardrobe. A desk and a chair should you need to work, lots of lighting in the room and black out curtains. I was on the ground floor in room 104 - despite this being very close to reception there was no noise to be heard. Perfect. Watch out for checkout time - I wasn't happy that their guide in the rooms states 11.30 but they say that checkout is 11 - bit misleading. Other than this, can't fault the hotel and the location. Entrance is in a lovely courtyard style. Everything is walking distance to the centre (around 15 mins depending on how quickly you walk) it actually takes longer by taxi!

Room Tip: Room 104 was my room and it's pretty lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodieClaireBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kin words. How great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel that much. We checked the Guest Guides in every room and changed the check-out time to the right one. I am sorry about that. We are looking forward to welcome you back when you will visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

we stayed here at the weekend - clean rooms v modern pleasant staff good location
however my only gripe are the corridors - because they are tiled you can hear everyone walking past and it meant we were kept awake from early morning between luggage being rolled past and people talking - otherwise nice stay - paid extra to have junior suite - its really a slighter bigger room so if you are expecting a bigger room - book the penthouse suite which im sure are worth the money for view alone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmgilly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. I forwarded your compliments about our pleasant staff to the entire team and you made them really happy. Great to hear you loved the rooms and location. I am sorry to hear that you heard noises from the corridor. We contacted a company which is an expert in noise reduction last week and we our looking for the best option. So this is in proces. We would love to welcome you back in the future and you are more then welcome to book a penthouse next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is situated close to museumspleun, in walkingdistance.
After the museums take the tramp to the citycenter it takes app. 15 minutes.
Supermarked is situated 200meter from the hotel..
We bought Amsterdam card, a very good idea, and we saved a lot of money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Hans Henrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Henrik,

Thank you very much for staying at Grand Hotel Downtown and taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor for our hotel.

Nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have saved on Museums and other attractions by purchaing the Holland Pass from our front desk.

We hope that you will return to visit Amsterdam in the near future and that you will stay at Grand Hotel Downtown.

Have a nice afternoon and we look forward welcoming you again at Grand Hotel Downtown.

Kindest regards,

Grand Hotel Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely modern hotel at a reasonable price. Room was clean and very spaceous with clean towels every day. We were on the ground floor, think the penthouse suites are on the top floor, so no problem with lifts or stairs for us. Staff were very friendly and very helpful with directions and local knowledge of trams, buses museums etc. Only down side was the TV reception was not the best in our room, but as we were only in it to sleep it didnt matter to us.
Five minutes from city centre (Dam Square) on the trams or if you feel like it approx 30 minutes walk.
Only ten minutes walk from Van Gogh museum and ten minutes from Anne Frank House.
Airport is 20 minutes in a Taxi, 36euro.
Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mr Aly N,

Thank you very much for leaving a review for Grand Hotel Downtown.

We hope that you have had a great time in Amsterdam.
Sorry to read that the reception of your television has not been up to standard during your stay. We have informed our maintenance about this matter and hope that this will be resolved as soon as possible.

We look forward welcoming you back at Grand Hotel Downtown and please do not hesitate to contact us, should you have any further queries.

Kindest regards,

Grand Hotel Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#162 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Hotel Arena
#103 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#119 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: 1e Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing