We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Too expensive for a ground floor hotel with no view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #121 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive for a ground floor hotel with no view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was a ground floor hotel, with no view (you had to be careful not to be seen from the people passing outside or by the buildings nearby), no fresh air, only air condition and no breakfast included in a pretty high price. The third day we came back in an uncleaned room and they had also forgotten the detergent in our bath!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Genovefa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate this and it helps us to improve our service. Our hotel is situated on the ground floor and on the sixth floor. This is because the building had several facilities. For example two other hotels, lunchroom, residents who live in the building. Please do not hesitate to book a room on the sixth floor next time. These rooms also include a private terrace with an amazing view.
I am really sorry to hear that your room was dirty when you returned to your room. I communicated this to our housekeeping manager and we discussed the issue so it won't happen again. We forwarded this to all our employees to pay extra attention. We do love to welcome you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    414
    164
    56
    43
See reviews for
115
603
50
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spend three nights in this hotel and will recommend this hotel to anyone that will what a good night sleep in a confortable bed. The rooms are big compare to european standands. The beds are very comfortable and the room is very clean. The personnel at the front desk are very helpful and go out of their way to take care of all your travel needs. The hotel is a little bit far from main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and recommendation. I forwarded you compliments to our staff members and you made them really happy. We would love to welcome you back in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights and found it to be overall very pleasant.
The staff were very helpful from when we arrived to when we left.
Room was small but I think adequate and quite cosy for just the two of us. Everything you might need is there, bed was very comfortable, the design is very modern and new and the room itself was very clean. You have Tea, coffee making facilities, a T.V with some English channels and a mini bar with soft drinks a couple of snack cakes.
The location is a little outside the centre of Amsterdam but this made it very quiet and easy to sleep, there are tram stops near by, which are easy to hop on and off. I actually found it a relief not to be in the madness of the city centre, you could really relax when you returned to your room.
This hotel is good value for money and more than comfortable enough for a few nights stay.
I would recommend it and advise people not to be put off by some of the (I think) harsh reviews.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephAndy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We really appreciate this. We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#181 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#97 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#95 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#120 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing