We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Grand Hotel Downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #123 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Florence
2 reviews
“Grand Hotel Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spend three nights in this hotel and will recommend this hotel to anyone that will what a good night sleep in a confortable bed. The rooms are big compare to european standands. The beds are very comfortable and the room is very clean. The personnel at the front desk are very helpful and go out of their way to take care of all your travel needs. The hotel is a little bit far from main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and recommendation. I forwarded you compliments to our staff members and you made them really happy. We would love to welcome you back in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    439
    173
    58
    47
See reviews for
125
638
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights and found it to be overall very pleasant.
The staff were very helpful from when we arrived to when we left.
Room was small but I think adequate and quite cosy for just the two of us. Everything you might need is there, bed was very comfortable, the design is very modern and new and the room itself was very clean. You have Tea, coffee making facilities, a T.V with some English channels and a mini bar with soft drinks a couple of snack cakes.
The location is a little outside the centre of Amsterdam but this made it very quiet and easy to sleep, there are tram stops near by, which are easy to hop on and off. I actually found it a relief not to be in the madness of the city centre, you could really relax when you returned to your room.
This hotel is good value for money and more than comfortable enough for a few nights stay.
I would recommend it and advise people not to be put off by some of the (I think) harsh reviews.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephAndy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We really appreciate this. We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What we have here is a poor quality budget hotel trying to be more. True the staff are friendly and helpful but unfortunately incompetent. Starting with the rooms, they are small and poorly appointed. The bed was cheap and stiff and the pillows firm and foam. Not a good start. I can put up with this but the room was also not very clean, now this is unacceptable. Locations wise it is pretty far from everything but tolerable. Finally the staff dropped the ball by not ordering my taxi when I asked and caused me to be late for my meeting. Overall a poor hotel with grand delusions, pass on it if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DouglasMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for writing an email. Your feedback is more then welcome. I am so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during your stay. Our rooms have the standard size that meets the hotelclassifications standards. If you prefer a bigger room please do not hesitate to book an upgrade at the front desk or up front. I think the looks of the rooms is a matter of taste. The hotel is designed by a well regarded designer. I understand that you have a complaint about the pillow. Please just call to our front desk or go to the front desk and they are more then happy to provide you a new pillow. Iam really sorry about the taxe reservation. Because it was a businesstrip the time is one of the most important things during your stay. I would love to get in touch with you and see what we could do for you. Please contact me and we will get back to you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#185 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#91 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing