We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well located. Well designed rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #130 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very well located. Well designed rooms”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Location of this hotel is very good, being very close to Vondelpark and Museumplein. A nice walking distance to both as well as to Leidseplein. There are some good places to eat nearby. Having reserved in advance, I could use the parking lot for extra 25 euros a day. The decoration of the rooms are of very good taste. We liked our family room a lot, as the two children slept in a separate room. It is a pity there wasn't no door between the two rooms. Cleaning is not very well looked after though. We broke a glass cup in the bathroom one evening. Told reception about it the next morning, so that the cleaning lady wouldn't get hurt. The next evening there was still some small glass pieces around. Reception girls are very nice and speak very good English too. All in all a very good hotel for a fair price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarcisio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and feedback. I forwarded your compliments about the service to all our employees and you made them really happy. I am sorry to hear that there was still some glass in the room. I communicated this to the housekeeping department and advised them to be aware of situations like this and they are going to pay extra attention. I am looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    510
    194
    65
    54
See reviews for
145
728
55
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
185 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I arrived in Amsterdam, following my gps, the last 7 km took ... 75 minutes starting 15.30h, outside of peakhours ...
When I arrived in the steet I haven't found the hotel, no sign at all to be seen, really incredible, stopped in a fastfood restaurant and they expalined me that it was just on the other side of the road, impossible to guess !
Then I wanted to go in the parking, impossible, you had to go first to the reception and register, in one of these streets where you have no parking space.
Finally made it, you have to reserv in advance, then you get a card for entrance of the parking, but you have also to pay Eur 20 in cash as a guaranty, never had that before.

The rooms are ok and clean, nice bed.
But very noisy, you hear everything from the corridor, no noise insulation, not acceptable.

Next morning I had to leave early, left round 7 am, again you have first to drive out of the parking, put your car wherever you can, bring back the card to the reception and then you get your
Eur 20 back ....
Very complicated. Not practical at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. We really apreciate that. I understand that you had a difficulty with finding the hotel. The hotel is in a building with different facilities. Next week there will be a big sign in front of the hotel which you are able to see from the road and it makes it easy to find the hotel. In case of the parking, this is the best way for us to do it. The parking garage is part of a public parking and we have reserved a number of parking places for our guests. To guarantee the parking places we provide parking cards and ask a deposit and therefor the guests need to register at the front desk before you drive into the garage. We have to activate the card to access. This is all because the parking place is public and used by different companies. We will take this into account and try to improve this situation. I am really sorry to hear you heard all the noises from the corridor. That is offcourse not acceptable and you are here for a good night sleep. We are going to solve this problem as soon as possible and made an appointment with a company which is expert in noise reduction. Despite the unpleasant situations I would really love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Quite nice room, with an impressive terrace on the town sightseeing. Position central enough to reach everything by foot. Eventually tram stop is nearby. Service and courtesy of the staff. No complain (maybe pay per view missing is a minus).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Diego B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We drove straight to hotel bit hard to find but got there in the end! They do have parking which is 25e per night but I would reccomend parking here as it is right next door to hotel, the receptionists were great and very helpful and really nice to our children! The family room was good and lots of space and we did have tea and coffee facilities too! Lots of restaurants nearby too about 10 minutes walk away but receptionist was v helpful showing us the areas to go etc... Very happy with this hotel and breakfast great too .... Thank you grand hotel

Room Tip: We had family room 130 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geribeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and found the room clean and well appointed. Furnishings were all good quality and bed linen was very comfortable. We stayed in a small double room for the affordability. Although small, the layout was good and the high ceilings meant that we did not feel claustrophobic at all. Although not in the main city area, this hotel is conveniently located for the no. 1 tram service and we did not have any trouble getting to the places we were visiting.
The day time receptionists are great and seem to have good knowledge of attractions and directions. However, when we first checked in, it was late and the night receptionist was polite but did not know anything about the local attractions at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobodypq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

AVOID THIS HOTEL LIKE THE PLAGUE, TERRIBLE SERVICE, WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND THEN DONT CARE ABOUT ANYTHING REGARDING YOU!!!!!!
My husband and I arrived at this hotel last week for our honey moon, before arrival i emailed them three times to confirm we would be recieving the honeymoon suite, we were emailed back saying it wouldnt be a problem and its all booked for us. We get to the hotel and they have no idea what i was talking about, i show them the email and they deny it. We get to the room, it was MUCH smaller then pictures online. The shower was dirty, the toilet seat broken, the lamp by my bed broken without a lamp shade and the air conditioning unit was extremely loud. We went to the receptionist to explain and she told us she was the only staff at the hotel and she couldnt help us with anything. I asked her to call a manager which she refused to do until i was close to tears and the manager said he cant do anything except offer us another room but wed have to pay a extra 50 per night!!!!! I was in shock!!!!!! She was rude and horrible!!!!! The hotel is tiny, all floors are bottom floor so not very good rooms and the internet was broken the last 2 days we were there.
In my opinion stay away from this hotel!
They will really grate on your nerves and ruin your holiday!!!
I really hope this review ensures people dont experience the same nightmare i had!!!!
Good Luck Travellers :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#172 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#115 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Property: Grand Hotel Downtown
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing