We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice designed room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
Ranked #126 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 17, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ItsWikiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and found the room clean and well appointed. Furnishings were all good quality and bed linen was very comfortable. We stayed in a small double room for the affordability. Although small, the layout was good and the high ceilings meant that we did not feel claustrophobic at all. Although not in the main city area, this hotel is conveniently located for the no. 1 tram service and we did not have any trouble getting to the places we were visiting.
The day time receptionists are great and seem to have good knowledge of attractions and directions. However, when we first checked in, it was late and the night receptionist was polite but did not know anything about the local attractions at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nobodypq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

AVOID THIS HOTEL LIKE THE PLAGUE, TERRIBLE SERVICE, WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND THEN DONT CARE ABOUT ANYTHING REGARDING YOU!!!!!!
My husband and I arrived at this hotel last week for our honey moon, before arrival i emailed them three times to confirm we would be recieving the honeymoon suite, we were emailed back saying it wouldnt be a problem and its all booked for us. We get to the hotel and they have no idea what i was talking about, i show them the email and they deny it. We get to the room, it was MUCH smaller then pictures online. The shower was dirty, the toilet seat broken, the lamp by my bed broken without a lamp shade and the air conditioning unit was extremely loud. We went to the receptionist to explain and she told us she was the only staff at the hotel and she couldnt help us with anything. I asked her to call a manager which she refused to do until i was close to tears and the manager said he cant do anything except offer us another room but wed have to pay a extra 50 per night!!!!! I was in shock!!!!!! She was rude and horrible!!!!! The hotel is tiny, all floors are bottom floor so not very good rooms and the internet was broken the last 2 days we were there.
In my opinion stay away from this hotel!
They will really grate on your nerves and ruin your holiday!!!
I really hope this review ensures people dont experience the same nightmare i had!!!!
Good Luck Travellers :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachel5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's been difficult to find a hotel in Amsterdam that is not only reasonable but is also conveniently located with decent room sizes. For the Downtown Hotel (forget the Grand as it neither deserves the 4-Star it claims nor the 'Grand' status as it lacks not only superior decoration nor amenities such as pool or gym) it's reasonably priced (garage costs €25/day extra) and somewhat clean when I compare it to other Hotels I have stayed in Amsterdam. The service was friendly, the location is ok if you don't mind a bit of walking (c. 10 min to Leidesplein and c. 15 min to the Rijksmuseum) and the hotel and room I stayed in are plain and functional. So don't expect a 'grand' set up and expect a 3-Star quality. Very disappointing was clearly the room which I expected to be large considering that I booked a Penthouse "Suite" which I expected to live up to the word 'Suite' but it was at best a Deluxe Room on the top floor of the hotel (wonder how they have taken the hotel pictures of the room as the angle is impossible) and the terrace had to be shared with 3 other Penthouse 'Suites' with no chairs or tables provided.

We stayed for 3N and the bed sheets were not changed during the stay. The cleanliness was superficial and appeared to be done in a rush (for 3N the bathrobe was messed together in the towel rack and replacement towels were just stacked on top). If you looked closely under the bed and on the bathroom floor you know that the room was only superficially wiped. But hey, its not a 4+ Star Hotel so we don't want to be too picky.

Overall, I still think that the hotel is fine if you don't expect high standards and don't mind a bit of walking to get to the main attractions.

Room Tip: Since even the Penthouse Room was fairly small I can assume that the Large Penthouse Room has a dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germanosyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I know the title may seem oxymoronic, but it was true. Like other Amsterdam hotels in which we've stayed, the square footage of this place was on the smaller size. Nonetheless, the layout of the room made it feel quite spacious. the was room for our luggage, and we didn't feel like we had to dance around each other to get to the restroom.

The room's decor was lovely. From the furnishings to the art, to the tile in the bathroom, to the concealed TV behind the mirror. It was a classy room for a reasonable price.

Plus the rooms were clean and quiet. We had stayed in another Amsterdam hotel before moving here, and we were so glad we made the move.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Seth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place is located relatively close to the downtown (tourist) area of Amsterdam.
The hotel is very modern and clean. The rooms are very nicely furnished and the staff is friendly.
Great find in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellalinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

very good located, clean hotel, walking distance to most sight seeing musts. disturbing air-co and ventilation in the room compensated by very comfortable beds. adres to recommand to friends or come back for other visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Beatrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#174 of 372 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#79 of 372 in Amsterdam
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#129 of 372 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 372 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $108 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a modern and stylish 4-star hotel with the best of Amsterdam within reach? The Grand Hotel Downtown meets all your expectations and welcomes you. The hotel is situated in the trendy Oud-West area, only a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein (Leidse Square). Centrally located between the lively hart of the city, the lovely Vondelpark and the cultural richness of the Museumplein, the Grand Hotel Downtown is an excellent base for your stay in the metropole city of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing