We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Asian in Amsterdam”
Review of Woo Bros

Woo Bros
Ranked #837 of 3,897 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Go Asian in Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've been planning to go to Woo Bros for many months and yesterday I made it. I sure should have gone earlier. The food is delicious, especially if Asian food is your thing and you like eating lots of small dishes and sharing. The food is fresh, very tasty and beautifully presented. The service is good and attentive. You wont go to Woo Bros for the interior design or for the romantic atmosphere, but for the super food which I thought was reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good service, bit loud music, ok value for money”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

On a business trip, wanted to eat some Asian near the center and ended up in this restaurant. No reservation however got a free table, ordered few different dishes as advised by the waitress. I would say, all in all it was a "fancy" meal, some things were pretty good, other were average. It was not a cheap meal, but this being downtown A'dam one needs to take that into account I guess. Friendly waitresses, a bit busy so one had to make sure to catch their eye to order, rather loud music, but overall pretty good athmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super Mari-Woo Bros.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love our Asian food, so visiting an Asian restaurant whilst in Amsterdam for us was a must and Woo Bros was excellent.

The place is easy to find as it's just down the street as the Rembrandt museum (just walk past the museum with it on your right and you'll find Woo Bros just down from there).

The restaurant had a nice vibe and started to fill up and get busy later, so we were glad that we booked ahead.

The staff were very friendly and attentive, keeping us topped up with our wine and water. As with a lot of Asian restaurants, the food comes out in bits and pieces, so we knew what to expect. As the menu recommends, pick 2 or 3 main dishes for the best experience (We went with 3 each, some noodles each and some edamame beans as well!).

The lobster spring roll with garlic aioli was superb (though we could have eaten about 10 more!) as was the soft shell crab, Vietnamese salad and seared tuna. Everything was either really good or great - though the butterfly prawns with mango salsa wasn't the best but still nice.

Price wise it was ok but one of the more expensive places we ate during our time in Amsterdam but we didn't feel short changed as the food was amazing, one of the best Asian restaurants we've been too!

They don't have a huge selection of desserts but was very pleasantly surprised by the ice cream flavours and the spiced layered cake! Lovely evening, great atmosphere with great food, highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexTrevelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“mixed bag!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Asian dining with a difference, the menu is a mix of many asian countries food and misses out on
particular specialities of any one country, they advise ordering several dishes as the quantities are small and we found that they were quite bland and a mish mash and the drinks were expensive. The waitress was very helpful and attentive. At the end of the evening, the 4 of us agreed we would not be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you are hungry and right there”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Simply stated, the kitchen is open late so if you are hungry and walking around looking for a quick bite to eat, this place works. Nothing was special except for maybe the service. We had a duck, beef and fish dish. The noodles were bland but again, okay.

Not my fav but did the trick! (This is what happens if you don't make reservations:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jadore42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woo Bros also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Woo Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing