We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish pub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Donnells Irish Pub

O'Donnells Irish Pub
Ranked #1,158 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place has just the right amount of dimly lit coziness that I love in a pub. Nice atmosphere, bustling with people & very friendly staff who were more than happy to chat with a couple of crazy Canadians about their neighbourhood and the 'must-sees' in Amsterdam.
THEN the food happened. Sandwiches & wraps and fries - so so delicious, and some great beers on tap to go with. Everything was super fresh.
We loved everything about this place. We came back a couple of days later to test out their coffee & huge over-stuffed arm chairs [facing a nice big picture window - delightful!], and later in the day also brought some friends there for more of those tasty sandwiches. Stalkers? Nope. Just know a good spot when we see one!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    52
    25
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Craic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love this little pub! Good food! Good Value in a great area! A must to visit! Love the outdoor seating area! :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julzlong83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here to watch some football as they have big screens. Big pub, plenty of seating. Good Irish pub grub available as well as lots of international food. Good range of drinks available too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sinead c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
306 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Enjoyed eating our delicious fish and chips outside the pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My group and I walked for a long time to find a restaurant that 8 of us "seniors' could enjoy. So many were really loud and cuisine just wasn't what we were looking for. Finally, we saw O'Donnel Irish Pub. Only a couple of people were inside which made us wonder about the food. However, outside there is a plaza that the customers can sit and give their orders to the servers.

They put 3 table together for us, took our orders, brought the food out fast (and it was hot and delicious) plus they gave us separate checks as needed.

Those of us who had fish and chips were thrilled with our meal. It was starting to get dark. They put candles on our tables. Luckily, the temperature was very nice so we could eat outside. However, when it is cold, I'm sure the restaurant is packed. With food and service like this, why wouldn't they be?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisD534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub in great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Irish Pub but with NO IRISH MUSIC, other than that a great indoor & outdoor area. Staff are helpful & service is OK. Food is very reasonable & good value. orth a visit but as stated don't expect any Live Music.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 186487Mrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Donnells Irish Pub also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to O'Donnells Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing