We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyed eating our delicious fish and chips outside the pub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Donnells Irish Pub

O'Donnells Irish Pub
Ferdinand Bolstraat 5, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)
0206767786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,036 of 3,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
306 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Enjoyed eating our delicious fish and chips outside the pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My group and I walked for a long time to find a restaurant that 8 of us "seniors' could enjoy. So many were really loud and cuisine just wasn't what we were looking for. Finally, we saw O'Donnel Irish Pub. Only a couple of people were inside which made us wonder about the food. However, outside there is a plaza that the customers can sit and give their orders to the servers.

They put 3 table together for us, took our orders, brought the food out fast (and it was hot and delicious) plus they gave us separate checks as needed.

Those of us who had fish and chips were thrilled with our meal. It was starting to get dark. They put candles on our tables. Luckily, the temperature was very nice so we could eat outside. However, when it is cold, I'm sure the restaurant is packed. With food and service like this, why wouldn't they be?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisD534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    52
    25
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub in great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Irish Pub but with NO IRISH MUSIC, other than that a great indoor & outdoor area. Staff are helpful & service is OK. Food is very reasonable & good value. orth a visit but as stated don't expect any Live Music.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 186487Mrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“we liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

it was near our hotel and nice to be away from the tourist hoardes. lovely waitress. food and prices were middle range. not a bargain, but it was fair and pleasant. as good a bet as anywhere if you are guessing.

Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lousy food and expensive drinks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friend lives in the area and we decided to give this place a try. We both ordered fish and chips. Everything clearly came from a can or a box. The pre-breaded fish was over cooked, and did not taste very fresh. Even the french frites were a failure, being completely dry.

After getting the bill we realized that a pint of beer was €7 which is far from standard price in amsterdam, even for a touristy place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobbebobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good burger andother food, only small problem was that we selected a dish, it was not available, than selected other, not available, third try was fortunately success. The food was pretty good and inexpensive. Pub looks nice, there is availability of outdoor seatings during the nice summer weather as well which is nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Donnells Irish Pub also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to O'Donnells Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing