We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in the heart of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Ranked #59 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Located in a small quiet street close to a large square, Vossius Vondelpark is a hotel with many pros and a few cons.

Some pros:
- The receptionist Fabrizio (from Italy) was simply excellent! Warm, professional, free with his advice and constantly available to help. Guests always felt at ease when they were assisted by Fabrizio. There was also another receptionist who was also very polite and professional but unfortunately I've forgot his name.
- Our room met our requirements and offered many comforts. Good furniture and devices as well as satisfying standard of hygiene. Everything was perfectly working.
- The hotel rates also included the Internet point and the WI-FI area both in the lounge which was very important to us but I think to everyone.
- The hotel location is simply fantastic! Lots of trams and buses connect the hotel to every city district. Furthermore, the area next to the hotel is very livable, rich in green and well-served by numberless attractions and shops.
- The hotel prices are very competitive in comparison to the level of services included.

Some cons:
- The room we had was in the backyard, which was at just 15 m from the main building. But in winter it's not very pleasant to be forced to wear your coat, gloves, hat, scarf etc. each time you have to reach the reception.
- The girl at the reception (usually working in the morning) was not very professional and available to advise us about even simple questions such as "How can we reach the point A from here?". Really not helpful.
- No Italian TV-channels were available and this was a real disadvantage for my partner as for all the numerous Italian guests.
- The bathroom was definitely too small. Though we are slim we could not even move there! On the contrary, the shower cabin was too wide and stole precious room to the rest of the bathroom.

As a whole, it was a positive experience and a good solution when it comes to informal stays in one of the most unconventional cities in the world!

Room Tip: Exclude the rooms in the backyard in winter due to the lack of an indoor passageway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mywhereabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    211
    94
    31
    33
See reviews for
65
245
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Went to Amsterdam for the first time, this was for my Birthday in JANUARY was only a 4 nights stay
The room was outside which wasn't any problem
Was warm and cosy
Very clean
Shower/toilet was very small if you are overweight this would be a problem area but was cool as you could pee and brush your teeth at the same time :D
The staff were amazing very friendly and helpful
Everything was easy to access lots around this area
Easy to get trams to central station and back
Hotel location was brilliant
Overall 9 out of 10. ..basically perfect

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my fiancé in January 2014. The hotel is modern, clean and right beside a lovely park in Central Amsterdam. Central enough so that you can walk in the centre in good time, and there are tram stops very nearby. Lovely room, and very friendly staff. Would definitely return for a longer stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 22 march 2014 for 2 nights!! I was told by a friend before booking to book a hotel near Vondelpark and the Leidsplein and I'm so happy I chose this hotel!! I'd never been Amsterdam before and me and my boyfriend LOVED it and LOVED the hotels location.
We had a room on the 4th floor facing the park as I'd requested high floor and to face the park and I was happy with this room even though it was rather on the small side but it was enough for two nights!!! If I went again which I most certainly would if choose a room on the floor below maybe as the windows on the top floor are really small and if your small like me difficult to look out of hahaha!!!
Rooms were cleaned to a VERY high standard so overall I'm very impressed!!!
Cycling is a major thing in Amsterdam so hiring bikes is well recommended we did and we got around the city and saw some amazing places, however, you can walk if you want!! The hotel will also let you keep the bikes at the hotel locked up!!
If visiting Anne franks BOOK TICKETS IN ADVANCE to avoid long queues either that or do what we did and visit it about an hour before closure the queues are not as big lol!!
Fab hotel we will definitely return!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andysiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here two nights with my girlfriend. The first thing that you'll notice is the location - just off the main street so not noisy, plus right next to the beautiful Vondelpark. However, it's literally seconds away from tram stops, shops and only a short walk to the city centre (just pop over the bridge). The hotel itself feels newly renovated (which it was, if I'm not mistaken, in September 2013). The rooms themselves may not be huge (same with the bathrooms) but they are spotless and really nicely decorated (classy black and white, feels expensive). It's a nice contrast to the old building. We stayed in a standard double. The hotel staff are immensely helpful, especially this one young lad who went above and beyond to direct us to shops, restaurants, tram stops and more. As you'd expect from Amsterdam, they all speak very good English and seem genuinely happy to help.

Certainly for the price this is a brilliant choice - you'll struggle to get much of a better location yet without the noise. Cracking little place

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SongBillong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a great Hotel to stay in its about 10 mins on tram to the centre of town,
great location , overall i could not fault this hotel the rooms were lovley very clean perfect for a short stay , me & my partner loved this hotel they cleaned rooms out daily & staff were very helpful & lovely to deal with.we would come back & stay here anythime as the price is cheap for a lovely hotel. thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Nothing to complain about with this hotel.
I stayed in one of the outside double rooms, in the garden of the hotel. It was quiet and no steep stairs to climb so great! The room is small but big enough for 2 people and suitcases. The whole hotel is very clean.
The buffet breakfast was great! Scrambled eggs, lots of bread, a toaster, cereals and fruits and more!
Its in a good location, next to the lovely Vondelpark and 2 mins from bars and resturants.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#163 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#119 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#154 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vossius Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vossius Vondelpark

Property: Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Address: Vossiusstraat 8, 1071 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vossius Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vossius Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing