We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous alfajores”
Review of Melly's Cookie Bar

Melly's Cookie Bar
Ranked #1 of 98 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Centrum
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous alfajores”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Dropped by Melly's to sample the alfajores. They were absolutely out of this world. They came in about 5 flavours and I had the chocolate and the white chocolate/walnut. Both delicious. We also bought some cookies at the same time. I tried the chocolate and speculaas cookie which was ok, but nothing spectacular, especially for the price. The alfajores though were definitely to be recommended.

The cafe itself is tiny, but a lovely atmosphere with very friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    112
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret place ”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Well deserved rating. Visited here on aug 3 2014. Great coffee. Great baking. Cubanitos are a must try. Wafer rolls with dulce de leche stuffed inside then dipped in chocholate. Small and cozy. No outdoor seating.

Helpful?
Thank GNKsci
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ghent,belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lekker breakfast at good price!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Writing this review from this very cosy, small bar. Cappuccino and coffee are super and very well done, cakes and croissants are great. What are u waiting for...!?

Helpful?
Thank Jacopo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best coffee around”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Living in the central part of Amsterdam I have a broad choice in coffee corners within a five minute walk. Melly's easily beats all of the competitors by just creating great coffee.

My girlfriend and I visit at least once a week for a take away latte with soy and our happy 100% of the time.

Only questions mark is why they don't open earlier so I can visit before work every day!

Helpful?
2 Thank Menco_Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible breakfast pastries!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stopped at Melly's Cookie Bar each morning for breakfast and the pastries were different and equally amazing every day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayobrien83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melly's Cookie Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Melly's Cookie Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing