We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great place to stay in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Boutique Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
Ranked #46 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the split level apartment at Singel 401. (1)This is a great location from which to explore Amsterdam: you can walk just about anywhere and the tram if very nearby. There is some street noise as there are a lot of local cafes and bars but the bedrooms are at the back and so noise didn't bother us. There is a good very well-priced tapas bar (recommended by Mart) in the street behind the apartment and numerous other places to eat including Michelin-starred restaurants. There is a grocery store a block from the apartment. The Sunday art markets at Spui and Rembrandt Plein are very nearby and are fun to visit. The Spui area just behind the apartment also has a number of bookstores including the large American bookstore.The apartment is very close to the 9-streets area of Amsterdam and the Jordaan area which have lots of interesting shops and cafes. (2) The online pictures are very accurate and the apartment has lots of natural light with a beautiful view and interesting and comfortable decor. The orchids, other plants, large plant photographs, Asian artworks and beautiful light fittings in the apartment create a lovely environment. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious with a skylight, a great big bath, a good shower and nice toiletries. The wardrobe is outside the bedrooms and is well-designed with plenty of good clothes-hangers.The wine, soft drink, and Nespresso capsules in the apartment were very much appreciated as were the lovely local chocolates and fruit. These supplies meant that we only had to shop for bread and a few other necessities and we didn't need to carry large amounts of groceries to the apartment. (3) There is a good computer, wifi network, TV and DVD player in the apartment and it is easy to play your music using Bose speakers (4) The kitchen is well equipped with a big kettle, toaster, Nespresso machine and enormous stove! There is plenty of nice glassware and crockery but I did miss having a colander to drain pasta and would have appreciated a few more cooking implements. (5) The apartment is 2 floors up with a flight of stairs between the 2 levels of the apartment as well. I was concerned about this as my husband had a back operation last year. Mart very kindly carried our large bags up and down for us in view of this. The stairs are a quite steep spiral as is common in Europe but are even and well lit with good handrails. We really did get used to them and felt that the beautiful view through trees to the Singel canal was well worth it. The stairs would not be suitable for anyone with reduced balance or mobility. (6) There is a good washing machine and dryer in the apartment but that is not included in the tarrif. The iron and ironing board cover are not up to the high standard of all the other amenities. (7) Booking was easy and Mart was a very welcoming host. He made the arrangements for a car to take us back to the airport and I'm sure would have helped with other things if necessary. (8) You can't move around the double bed in the second bedroom which might not suit everyone. Our son was very happy with the large comfortable bed however.
I would be very happy to stay at Singel 401 again. We have great memories of Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are a couple in our late forties and spent last week in Amsterdam in the lower apartment.
It was such a delight to be greeted by Mart after travelling all day. His description and pictures were exactly as portrayed on the internet and we found the accommodation very comfortable, quiet and nicely appointed. Its location was right in the middle of everywhere we desired to go,
plenty of eating choices and a beautiful canal outlook. Mart gave us some great restaurant suggestions and we were never disappointed. He was the perfect host that was always available if needed and he even organised our taxi on departure. Nothing for him was a problem.
Thank you for helping us enjoy beautiful Amsterdam.
Gaye and Luke

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ariston50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Highlight:
1) Wonderful location...very central and walking distance to everywhere
2) spacious room, with nice design, impressive Jacuzzi and very comfortable bed
3) Friendly host - Mart and very helpful for everything.
Lowlight:
1) Noisy as the room is located like a basement concept facing outside street
2) minor issue inside the room such as unstable internet access and some insects (ants)

Room Tip: Upper apartment for 4 person may be nicer, book via the Host directly instead of agent may get more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a lovely 3 night stay in the studio flat. Perfect location, everything close by and really nicely done apartment, to a high quality specification. Very comfortable bed, lovely flowers as others have mentioned, and some nice welcome drinks & fruit. Really did feel like a home from home, with some nice touches such as two yoga mats. Only minor point is no door on the bathroom. Oh, and the dressing gowns were really comfortable! Would certainly stay again if we came back to Amsterdam for another break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank peznhuevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had an amazing experience in Amsterdam, which was enhanced by meeting Mart and staying at the boutique apartments. The weather really was ideal for exploring and the location was ideal. Walking distance to everything. Mart was extremely hospitable and always helpful with touring ideas, taxis etc. This is the place to go and stay. We had two couples staying and were extremely comfortable. I would recommend this accommodation to all my friends.

Room Tip: The apartment was up very steep stairs which did not hinder us, but beware if you are not fit or eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very nice apartment. Spacious and luxurious. Worth every euro. Very proffessional and courteous landlord.
The location is perfect and accessible by trains.
Why does the review has to be very long? I guess it only counts if you say a lot. Not a good system.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hattabmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Mart was very helpful when we arrived and was kind enough to store our bags while the room was not ready yet. The location of this property is fantastic and really easy to get everywhere in Amsterdam via trams or you can walk to all tourist locations. The studio apartment was great, very clean but did have some water damage on the wall outside of the bathroom. I do need to say if you have privacy issues this might not be the best apartment for you, there is no door between the bathroom and the bedroom. There were amazing flowers placed in the apartment and great welcome gifts.Overall I believe this property's benefits far outweigh the cons and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jcn0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#31 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Centrum
Yays Concierged Boutique Apartments Bickersgracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Boutique Apartments

Property: Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
Address: Singel 401, 1012 WN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Boutique Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments luxury design apartments are located in a monumental canal house (1790) just a minute walk away from the floating flower market.These serviced boutique apartments revive the old world elegance of the Amsterdam Canals and invite guests to enjoy every modern luxury. Dashingly decorated with a contemporary Dutch aesthetic and an Asian touch they are Amsterdam's hottest escapist alternatives to boutique and design hotels.The home-style residential concept allows visitors to stay in sublime privacy in these luxury designed apartments. Staying at this epitome of style & elegance right in the heart of Amsterdam's historical canal belt (World Heritage site). It's the proprietor's ambition that their guests will collect meaningful experiences while visiting Amsterdam that remain in their hearts after they leave. More than creating a very comfortable place to stay, they sincerely hope to create exceptional memories for every guest on every single day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing