We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Artist House Apartments
Save
You added Artist House Apartments to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend took me in a surprise trip to Amsterdam for my birthday and we stayed here. It was a great place to stay. The staff were really friendly. We arrived early in pouring rain and they let us leave our bags and lent us umbrellas until the room was ready. When we checked in the staff were really helpful and answered lots of questions we had about the best things to do in Amsterdam.

As well as friendly staff the room was amazing! We were in the studio apartment which was the smallest apartment there. It was on the top floor (there were a lot of stairs but completely worth the climb!). It had a large double bed, a kitchen area and a private terrace where you can sit outside for some drinks. We also had access to a shared roof terrace which was great.

Lots of nice touches - free biscuits, selection of teas and coffees, fresh flowers, nice decoration.

Would highly recommend and thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
71
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This apartment is in a great location. Easy walk to everything, rail, the sights and food.
It's well equipped, except for air con, however the fans provided were adequate, even with couple of 36 degree days.
A comfortable bed and nice decor made the stay very pleasant.
The hosts were great. Offers to carry bags up and down the narrow stairs and to arrange cabs were much appreciated as were the welcome gifts.
It comes with our recommendation and will stay there again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mountainviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Excellent apartment, right in the heart of Amsterdam. We stayed only one night but on a short weekend break. Arvin, Hans and Martin were fantastic hosts, we had early drop off for our bags, and were able to leave them after check out to collect later while we visited some of the key attractions that we wanted to see before leaving Amsterdam. The apartment was spotlessly clean, finished to the highest standard. Everything had been thought of, including fresh flowers, fruit bowl, biscuits and coffee maker, selection of teas and the bed was so comfortable. The hosts were so welcoming and could not do enough to help with tourist maps, advice on where to go and what was going on. The local Neumarket square was so pretty and full of character, welcoming local cafes and bars along with a variety of eateries. We would have loved to stay longer and will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: only 3 apartments one on each floor and rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tt42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Artist House apartment is one of the finest apartment we stayed in Europe. It was very conveniently located with few mins walk to Dom Square. The apartment was spacious with nice decor. The bed was comfortable and room was quite. The attendants were helpful. I would recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterose232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Artist house apartments are situated behind central station (5-10 min walk) in the heart of Amsterdam. This was my first trip and location was key to ensure i could get everywhere on foot and make the most of my time!!! I was able to visit all of the places i wanted to and experience Amsterdam.
On arrival i gained a very welcome greeting, with friendly advise and knowledge of the area and what was on that weekend. The apartment is clean and has all of the amenities requried to have an enjoyable stay. They provided tea and coffee facilties and there is a small supermarket across the square if you wished to cook and provide for yourself. I cannot fault the apartment, comfy, cosy and all was catered for.
I have no hesitiations of recommending this apartment to anyone. I have two tips though, if you are getting flights please ensure you are ok if the apartment can care for your luggage until your check in (3:30pm approx) and or have something planned and in terms of sight seeing if you want to visit Anne Frank's house book a ticket on line in advance as the que goes on forever.

I found everyone at the apartment friendly and geniuine and a real asset to the apartment and Amsterdam!

Room Tip: All of the apartments are impeccable, the roof terrace is a lovely extra feature and would be lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CityTraveller12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in 2 apartments. Arvin, Hans and Jonathan were wonderful hosts. They really went out of their way to make the arrangements easy for us...early bag dropoffs, late luggage pickup and a taxi ready for the airport.
The apartments were very comfortable and tastefully decorated with attention to detail for every need...including nespresso coffee and also teas. The location was also perfect...walking distance from various hotspots and also near the Metro. Highly recommend this as an option for a comfy, relaxing stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonangoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It was our first visit to Amsterdam and we were eager to find a comfortable apartment for exploring the city. The result exceeded expectations - it was just wonderful. The apartment is centrally located, within walking distance to all attractions. No noise, quiet and comfortable, with a wonderful design.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yar_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,284 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House Apartments

Property: Artist House Apartments
Address: Koningsstraat 5, 1011 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing