We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist House Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist House Apartments
Ranked #28 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

What a find! The location is superb, just a 10 minute walk from the central station with bars, restaurants and a supermarket close by. Also easy walking distance to many of the city's attractions. The apartment we stayed in was spotless and very comfortable. It is very close to a lively part of town but we had no problem with noise and slept very well. It was also, thankfully, very warm as the weather was pretty chilly during our stay. The accommodation is well equipped and you are made to feel most welcome with plenty of lovely touches like fresh flowers, a selection of teas and coffees and even stroopwaffels. There are also good practical elements that you don't always get with self catering accommodation, things like washing up liquid (if you choose not to use the dishwasher), tea towels, salt and pepper. We were welcomed by the lovely Jonathan, who could not have been more helpful. He patiently went through lots of sightseeing, dining and shopping possibilities, carefully marking them on a map for us. Free wifi also made it easy to look up information on our smartphones. Our flight home was in the evening and Arvin very kindly looked after our bags all day while we explored more of the city, meaning none of the hassle associated with finding - and paying for - left luggage. I cannot recommend the Artist House Apartments highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 555Foodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Really spacious and well kept apartment in central Amsterdam just at the Nieuwmarkt metro station. Newly renovated with kitchen/livingroom and separate bedroom. Coffee/tee, fruits and flowers included - great stay!
No manned reception, you need to make an appointment to check-in. Very service minded staff though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TVC15mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I booked a short city break stay here with my partner from 14th March - 17th March 2014. We are not really the typical tourists who would grace Amsterdam, as we went there primarily for the history & cultural side of things - i.e.: food, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh, museums etc.

So firstly the organisation was superb - we communicated primarily with Arvin Quirante, who owns the apartment 2 floors below the one we stayed in. They were really flexible and laid back with regards to check in times, provided that they were within the hours specified (15:00 earliest on arrival & 12:00 latest on departure). We were welcomed to the apartment by Mr. Jonathan Soddu who was a really nice guy and very helpful in terms of recommending where to eat, visit and just in welcoming us to the apartment.

On departure, we were also given the option of leaving our luggage in the apartment, where it was then transferred to Arvin's apartment for collection. We arranged a time to collect it later that day, as our flights were later and it meant we did not have to trawl around Amsterdam with bags in tow.

The apartment is very clean, functional and decorated and furnished to a high standard. I felt very safe during my stay in the apartment and there is also a bolt lock on the door which you can use for extra security if you need. We had everything we needed really. Extra towels, hair dryer, comfy bed, TV, Wifi, cooking utensils, microwave, dishwasher, hob and tea facilities and a coffee maker. There is also a terrace on the roof, accessible by a steep flight of stairs & a roof hatch. We made use of this in the evenings with a bottle of wine. There was a medium sized supermarket near by which we used to buy groceries (in the square directly outside the apartment).

Recommendations:

1) Do not bother using the taxi services in Amsterdam. They are overpriced. We stupidly paid 50 Euros from the airport - which is otherwise very easily accessible via the train station.

2) Do eat at the New King. It gets pretty busy, so make sure you get there nice an early - possibly 17:00-17:30. It is so popular, but really good value & large portions. We made the mistake of ordering far too much! It is also deceptively big, so if you go in there and see loads of people queuing outside, wait a while, as there are 3 other seating areas down stairs.

3) Do visit the Van Gogh gallery, it was excellent & I would really recommend getting at least 1 of the audio guides, as it was really interactive.

4) Do visit Anne Frank House - but make sure you get there as early as possible!! We queued for and hour and a half and the queue stays that length pretty much all the time. It snakes all around the road along side the house.

5) Do do a boat tour - it is a relaxing way to explore Amsterdam - but I would suggest perhaps finding one which has a decent tour. Ours was not as informative as I would have wanted.

6) If you are a vintage clothes lover DO explore the 'I love vintage' shop which I could happily have bought everything in if I was a millionaire. There are also loads of other vintage shops dotted around everywhere. Great stuff :)

7) Finally - DO DO DO LOOK LEFT, RIGHT AND LEFT AGAIN at all junctions if you are a pedestrian in Amsterdam. Priority is 1) Cyclists & Motorcycles 2) Trams 3) Cars/ Taxis (who are bad drivers) 4) people!!

So in summary - I would recommend this to a friend any day. Stay there :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is an excelent place to stay. Very well located, staff very very nice and helpfull. We had the beautiful study apartment at the top of the roof.....very cozy place. I 100% recomend if you go alone. You feel very safe. Only drawback.... Has some steep stairs.....if you with children might be uncorfortable. Any way ask Arvin, he will help you and clarify any doubts. Planning to go to Amsterdam....stay here. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vircano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had no practical idea of what we would find when we arrived at The Artist House Apartments. On arrival Arvin was extremely helpful and his staff took our luggage up to our top floor apartment. Amsterdam is a very special city and this apartment made us feel right at home. It is well supplied with teas and coffees and we were able to eat breakfasts in our apartment. It is very well situated and easy to get form it to almost anywhere you might want to be. When we return to Amsterdam, we will definitely try to stay there.

Room Tip: Top floor has a steep staircase to access but is worth the trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johndan10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I love this hotel. It was recommended by a friend and I was very impressed. The welcome we got was very warm and special. The room itself was class A. Very clean and beautiful complete with a well equipped kitchen plus unlimited coffee supply. I love this place. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Artist House Apartments for 3 nights. The place is comfortable and cozy, very clean and well maintained. There are stairs to the apartment, but the staff was very friendly and nice, and took our luggage up- and downstairs. They also allowed us to store the luggage on the last day and to repack before we left to the airport.
The location is great, just a few minutes walking from the Dam and very close to the central station. Koningsstraat is on the border of Red Light district and China Town, but the neighborhood is surprisingly quite. There is a lot of nice bars and restaurants around, a super market and a street market with flowers and cheese just around the corner.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#11 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#22 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Yays Oostenburgergracht Concierged Boutique Apartments
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#7 of 225 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House Apartments

Property: Artist House Apartments
Address: Koningsstraat 5, 1011 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Artist House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing