We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!”
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Ranked #375 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: There is a new location for this restaurant in Amsterdam. The only one available to review right now is by the library and train station.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I always go for the Pizzas in Vapiano, because they have never disappointed! They can be slightly tight with the toppings so just make sure you get your fair share! The favours are delicious, idea is fresh and I will always have time and money for this place...Only thing about this location, is if you sit up-stairs it is a bit of a trek to the kitchen for your food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteMandara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    206
    71
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 6 days in Amsterdam and we ate lunch here everyday but 1. The food was sooo good. Having spent 2 months travelling through Europe, we longed for a great salad like at home. We found it here. The portions were generous and made right in front of you. The wait was worth it. We too had to wait sometimes 15 minutes for food at lunchtime, but never had a problem getting a table. The wine and beer prices were cheap and great wine selections. We tell everyone at home that we found the best pizza in Amsterdam after spending 4 weeks in Italy. Just couldn't get enough! The only thing is they need more than one station for each section so the wait is not so long.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Best restaurant we found in Amsterdam. Cheap and delicious. Huge portions, just what we needed!
Good choice of pizza and pasta dishes and reasonable alcohol prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DisplayName_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and Concept”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

For foreigners in Amsterdam who do not know the Vapiano brand, it is a great concept as each person get's their own "smartcard" and you go to different counters to order antipasti, pizza, pasta or deserts. It really works quite well.

Quality and Standard of the food is great. I had a Calzone which was excellent, and my wife had a Quattro Stagioni Pizza was also very good. All food is prepared fresh, and if you want you can stand and watch the chef's cook it for you.

Nice place to go, nice atmosphere and reasonable prices by European City Standards.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amazinmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food but stressful atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to several Vapiano restaurants, incluiding the one in Bremen. Although the food in Vapiano Amsterdam is as great as at all Vapiano restaurants - with homemade pasta and freshly-cooked sauces right in frotn of you - the atmosphere and whole experience is rather stressful. Don't even try going there for dinner between 6-8 p.m. as you have to stand in lines for around 30 minutes it is so crowded! Having finally gotten the food, it is another endeavor to find a seat in the restaurant! Overall, though the food is excellent, try avoiding rush-hour eating times, and everything will be great. Otherwise, I would not recommend going as it is rather stressful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing