We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer, food so so.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij

De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij
Ranked #1,078 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Beer, food so so.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went here twice on our recent trip to Amsterdam. The beer is great, named after famous dutch singers. The price was reasonable even did the tour for 10 euros where you get to taste 4 different kind of beers. Went for dinner and was a little dissapointed. We both had fish and chips, it was okay the batter and remoulade was okay, maybe a little to much batter. However the potato wedges were not very good. Would return for beers, but not food. Also visited their store and bought two beer glasses, prices in their store are very decent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElVikingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great Micro brews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

De Prael is a great micro brewery. The selection is great and the enviroment is relaxing. We didnt have any food but the beer sampler was outstanding. The menu was in emglish and they gave great backgrounds of all of the different beers on tap. Would recommend this place to anyone who is in Ansterdam!

Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alloa, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great beer, friendly bar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful surprise in the edge of the red light district. The brew pub serves excellent beers and hearty pub grub and snacks.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank t0bysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester - England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great beer, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our second visit to Amsterdam & our trip on both occasions included visits to De Prael. Last time we tried to taste as many of the beers as possible, plus bought some bottles to take home with us from the shop round the corner. This time we went on the brouwerij tour & ended up in the bar, where we sampled several different beers (obviously!!) & went back again later in the evening for live jazz. We also managed a final visit before making our way back to the airport. We didn't eat here, but the food we saw being served looked tasty. So, yeah we like this place & would definately recommend a visit. Staff are all very friendly too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Man_city_fan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a real surprise and a great find (to be honest a Dutch colleague recommended it) and we could hardly believe that something as good as this exisiting alongside the tourist traps which abound in this part of Amsterdam (just on the edge of the Red Light district). As a place to go and drink the locally brewed beer it is excellent and the food is not at all bad (limited in choice, but all excellent accompaniments to beer). It has a good feel to the place (part is set out like an old fashioned sitting room), the service is good and the beer is superb.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing