We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive beer selection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Spuyt

Cafe De Spuyt
Ranked #983 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Go here for the beer. The selection is fantastic. Not too crowded on a Saturday night and playing all the Cure I could handle :) Great vibe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank brangrrl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
999 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Top notch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A place well worth the effort of finding. Don't expect the usual Dutch rubbish but properly sourced Dutch and Belgium beers written up on the wall to the left as you enter. Some French craft breweries too which are well worth trying too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great people, great bar, great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Greeted with a big smile by lovely Debbie, taken on a European beer adventure by Christen. All in the comfort of this fun little bar. Cheers from the Aussie and the Irish Peter Kullenberg & Erica. P.s. Extra thank you to you Debbie. If your on Facebook, it would be great to hear from you :-) Was great FUN.

Helpful?
Thank AussieDrifterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This tiny place has something. My bf and I went to this pub at night and had very special local beers. They've got more than 20 brands to choose from. We sat outside watching the people. It's quite relaxing after 9 pm. Before that it was crowded maybe because of the cool music they put on make this pub so east-london (if you know what I mean). The crowd were so trendy as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beer, Beer, Beer - 100 beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After a few days in Amsterdam we were dying to get away from drinking boring lagers. Many places we visited offered Heineken or Amstel lagers and that was it.

Enter Trip Advisor City Guide app. This little app is an invaluable tool for navigating Amsterdam while totally offline - no data roaming charges. http://www.tripadvisor.com/apps-icityguides This tool was priceless and helped us not only discover great restaurants, pubs and attractions, but it also got us home at the end of the day with its real-time map using my phone's GPS.

One of the suggested itineraries in the app is a pub crawl. One of the featured pubs is De Spuyt. We loved this little beer drinker's paradise. We went back 3 times during our 10 day stay.

They feature over 100 beers from all around the world. They even offer Trappist Westvleteren 12 which apparently was rated top beer in the world several years in a row. Ask the bartender to tell you how they get this beer. It apparently involves getting an appointment."hundreds call hoping the one person will answer", driving to the brewery, (3 hours and 17 minutes according to Google Maps) and buying your total allotment "one case per car" and driving back to the pub. It's a wonder that they only charge 14 euro a bottle. (They offer 99 other beers at far more reasonable prices.)

After spending some time at De Spuyt, we found the owner and the various bartenders we met to be very friendly. (In general, we were surprised how distant local people were in Amsterdam.)

We had a cheese platter here once but we didn't go there to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Spuyt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Spuyt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing