We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise at the Seafood Bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Van Baerlestraat 5 | Museumplein, 1071 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 670 8355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise at the Seafood Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Happened to just walk in but were pleasantly surprised with the food and service.
Simple but trendy ambiance, tasty food and good service make this a favorite restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,650
    742
    132
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great seafood, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We ate at the Seafood Bar after a hard afternoon of shopping and we were greatly rewarded.
Although I had read that it is not possible to make reservations, it turns out you can, and you should, but we were lucky and get a table anyway.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and spent time with us to actually help decide what we wanted.
We had the lobster soup and squid to start, despite initial reservations about both, we were assured by our waiter that they were lovely and he was right, they were really good. We then had seabass which was the fish of the day and I had the fruits de mer which was really excellent and a great size.
We had many glasses of their lovely Prosecco which helped everything go down extremely well.

All round this was a very nice restaurant experience,. I would recommend it and I will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovepeas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“seafood feast at affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We celebrated my husband's birthday there. Pleasantly surprised by the prices, we ordered a basin of seafood - many kinds of seafood and also snails, all was fresh and delicious! Presentation was beautiful, it was an amazing experience, I wish I lived in Amsterdam to be able to go there on a regular basis!
However, we didn't order a table in advance and had to wait near the entrance (about 15-20 min) to be seated. So if you plan your visit to this restaurant in advance, you'd better call them and reserve a table so that you won't have to wait. The place is bulging with people! No wonder it's so popular - the food is delicious and seafood platters are prepared at the bar in the dinig room, so everybody can watch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OlgaMinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was looking for a place for dinner near my hotel (Hotel Roemer) and this place looked great. For dinner I had a Heineken, complementary bread and butter, and the catch of the day (Sea Bass). It was a great meal! Rarely is the bread and butter something to note, but it was special in and of itself. The fish was very fresh and seasoned to perfection.

The atmosphere was great. I would suggest sitting in the back as the waiters were congregating by the bar where I was sitting. Also, if you are coming here with a part of more than 1 or 2, you should make reservations. I was there on a Wednesday night at 6 pm and a lot of tables were reserved and it was getting hard for patrons to get tables.

If you are in the area, stop by here and have a bite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okaish...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Service: awesome!
atmosphere: superb
food: its good ..not super great though..only coz their fish and chips is not as good as in London.. only my pov.. but for the rest it's good.
a must try is their seafood platter which looks good from across our table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beflaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing