We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the sea!”
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Ranked #43 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best of the sea!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This informal restaurant offers top quality seafood and accompaniments at reasonable prices. We ate there one night, and carried out two other evenings, and were never disappointed! Highly recommend!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank morta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,411
    1,035
    172
    52
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fresh, new place for seafood”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A friend originally from Amsterdam recommended this new restaurant to me when I mentioned that I was heading there for a week. At first the name made me think of horrible seafood bar restaurants in the US that I dislike. But one afternoon while shopping along van Baerlestaat, I noticed the restaurant, remembered that my friend had mentioned it and decided to take a look at the menu. The menu looked good but what pulled me in was the open, clean lines of the restaurant and the fresh display of oysters in the front. Although it was not quite 1:00, the restaurant was half full of business men and locals all speaking Dutch. My husband and I took our perch at one of the high tables near the front of the restaurant. We started with two glasses of sparkling wine as we studied the menu. The menu has a wide assortment of selections. My husband chose the mussels, Belgian style and I opted for the grilled Prawns. Although I am not a regular fan of Prawns, the waitress recommended them and I decided to give them a try. I am so glad that I took her advice. The Prawns, which were grilled in a slightly spicy lemon oil marinate was addictive and delicious. I literally licked the juices from the Prawns before I removed their shells. The meat was juicy, tender and equally delicious. We love trying the various types of Apple cakes in Amsterdam and because the seafood bar also had one on their dessert menu, we ordered one to spilt. The apple cake wasn't that great. But if you want fresh, good seafood and an open and airy environment, I would recommend this place. It is also a good place to go alone because there is bar seating where you could sit and watch the wait staff. When asked, the waitresses indicated that the restaurant was only about 12 months old. The restaurant was full by 1:30 so I suggest that if you are going as more than 2 people, a reservation would be wise. Some folks who just walked in ended up having to leave because there were no more tables available. The tables turn over fast at lunchtime so you could also go shopping for an hour and then return. There is great shopping all along the street near the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vastervik, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kalas”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Lovely and welcoming atmosphere , bistro feeling , noisy and nice.
Delicious food , if you like seafood and are visiting Amsterdam , you have to test it.
Perfekt location in the center of beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fia8388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient & Tasty”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Liked the freshness of the food and the low key atmosphere. The open dining room can be noisy, but the food is delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven for seafood lovers”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great seafood restaurant! It serves great varieties of fresh seafood. I was struggling making a choice as I really wanted to taste everything. We had the mixed grill which was fantastic. The value was great too. Will definitely go again next I am in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShuyuanLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing