We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood restaurant”
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Ranked #42 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Seafood Bar is a nice, vibrant place and offers a very relaxed setting for a lunch or dinner. Food is good and fresh. Staff are friendly too. Prices are very reasonable for such fresh seafood, expect to pay around 30 euros for a good meal. Know that there's not much, almost nothing, to choose from if you or someone in your company don't like sea food. Recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hansdoddema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,652
    1,111
    182
    57
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, affordable and fresh fish at the Seafood Bar”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Seafood Bar is a great seafood and fish restaurant with an informal yet modern feel. It is not too expensive and the quality and freshness of the food is great. We came in on a Friday evening and we had to wait for a table for about half an hour. So definitely make a reservation!

The menu has a French brasserie-vibe to it, really focusing on fish. I can imagine it is tricky to go here with a vegetarian. I’ve been multiple times now, and I can say the cold seafood platter and oysters are very good. But also the less fancy Cod Fish & Chips is yummie. My friend had the Thai fishcakes as a starter which were a bit dry and tasteless unfortunately. Points of improvements are definitely the staff, who are positively chaotic. But even though it is amusing to see them running around aimlessly, the service does not suffer too much. They all remain friendly and helpful.

The restaurant attracts a diverse crowd, from yuppie couples, to visitors of the Concertgebouw just down the road, to families with kids.

To sum up, a modern, good and affordable fish restaurant in a central location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh and satisfying”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Had the fish and chips at lunchtime - the pollock was fried just nice and incredibly fresh. My only gripe is that the chef was too generous with salt. I'd ask for less - and shake some on if needed. The fresh salad with lettuce, dill, cucumber and tomatoes complemented the fish wonderfully. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yulesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautifully presented”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a great little find- the food was fantastic, beautifully presented and the staff were extremely friendly, and went to find us an English menu whilst we were struggling with the Dutch one on the door! We had lunch here, ordered battered fish and chips and sat out in the sun. The fish was very tasty and all perfectly cooked. Prices were very reasonable for the quality of food, and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The absolute seafood”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Getting a table is 100x worth the wait. Having eaten seafood on all continents, just 500 m around the corner where I was born last century is this noisy, rather small seafood place that serves fresh catch in all kinds of configurations and cooking styles that almost makes you overdo it, ordering a bit of everything, which is a lot. I had a Dover sole so tender, so tasty, and my dinner partners crab claws, shrimp and mullet, all prepared as they should be. The white wine by the glass was an excellent accompaniment to en excellent dinner. If you don't mind the noise, and don't plan a romantic dinner, but if you want great seafood: Go for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaver4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing