We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The restaurant all restaurants should emulate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Mediterraneo - CLOSED

Mondo Mediterraneo
Price range: $11 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Small Traiteur - take out / eat in - informal but authentic Italian / Mediterranean dishes Friendly service - open kitchen - homey atmosphere - centrally located 10 mn. wak from Central station Amsterdam - shopping streetMonday: closedTuesday to Friday: 16h30 - 20h30Saturday: 12h30 - 16h30Sunday: closed
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The restaurant all restaurants should emulate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the essence of Abruzzo in Amsterdam.
Small, honest, 100% attention to freshness and taste.
Dishes cooked with love and passion.
You need not go anywhere else for Italian food in Amsterdam.
This is a rare find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Extropian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little gem, with traditional, honest & tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

An unexpected change of plans had us walking into this wonderful place in downtown Amsterdam.
The food is prepared with passion and that you can taste.
The owner Giancarlo, was so kind to explain exactly what all the food was. There are so many choices: pasta's,anti-pasta, salades, quiches, meats, lasagna and also enough vegetarian options. Then there are these delicious(organic)juices.
I've tried a very nice tasting red wine, with chicken breast and roasted potatoes. One the side we had a nice broad bean salad, with some mint trough it and some bruschetta made from some really good bread.
You can eat either there, on one of the approximately 5 tables, or you can take it to take away. We'll definitely come back to try some more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank My_guideJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This Italian restaurant was recommended to us by a very pleasant young woman named Andrea who insisted that we should try it "as the food is truly delicious" Space is tight. A delicatessen counter displays the range of freshly prepared food on offer. There is a compact kitchen area to the rear and there are few tables and chairs for dining in. The service was warm and friendly and the two vegetarian dishes we ordered were excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andeLedbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every euro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was looking for a nice Italian restaurant for our last night in Amsterdam and noticed this one on Trip Advisor. From start to finish the service was excellent with the guy having a serious side making excellent recommendations for both food and drinks. The food that we ordered was truly excellent and I really can't find any fault. It was also very pleasant to find that the bill was quite fair as well.
All in all, an excellent experience and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real Italian Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is more like a delicatessen than a restaurant, but Giancarlo has a few tables and makes a lovely dinner arrangement. There are many choices of cold foods in the large counter and you choose either cold dishes or hot dishes (that are warmed up while you wait, if you eat there). If you want to eat in there you should make reservations; we watched them apologize to several people for lack of space during our meal.
Giancarlo says the food is largely from Italy, including the tomotoes, eggplant and buffula mozzerella. All of our dishes were very good, and many were outstanding. Giancarlo will discuss the food with you and is flexible on how you can order. The prices were very reasonable. We also bought some prosecco, tomato juice and chips that were imported from Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSojourner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo Mediterraneo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing