We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth every euro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Mediterraneo - CLOSED

Mondo Mediterraneo
Price range: $11 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Small Traiteur - take out / eat in - informal but authentic Italian / Mediterranean dishes Friendly service - open kitchen - homey atmosphere - centrally located 10 mn. wak from Central station Amsterdam - shopping streetMonday: closedTuesday to Friday: 16h30 - 20h30Saturday: 12h30 - 16h30Sunday: closed
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every euro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was looking for a nice Italian restaurant for our last night in Amsterdam and noticed this one on Trip Advisor. From start to finish the service was excellent with the guy having a serious side making excellent recommendations for both food and drinks. The food that we ordered was truly excellent and I really can't find any fault. It was also very pleasant to find that the bill was quite fair as well.
All in all, an excellent experience and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real Italian Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is more like a delicatessen than a restaurant, but Giancarlo has a few tables and makes a lovely dinner arrangement. There are many choices of cold foods in the large counter and you choose either cold dishes or hot dishes (that are warmed up while you wait, if you eat there). If you want to eat in there you should make reservations; we watched them apologize to several people for lack of space during our meal.
Giancarlo says the food is largely from Italy, including the tomotoes, eggplant and buffula mozzerella. All of our dishes were very good, and many were outstanding. Giancarlo will discuss the food with you and is flexible on how you can order. The prices were very reasonable. We also bought some prosecco, tomato juice and chips that were imported from Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSojourner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“very well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed, I could only taste the food to take away. Well, I must say it was great, the food would receive a good judgment even if I had taken in Italy,in the Netherlands become ecellent! The price was unfortunately expensive, but as expensive as the whole city is. Ultimately recommend it dispassionately, it is the only place that serves Italian cuisine that it really is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prinsengracht Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Giancarlo & co of Mondo Mediterranea managed to provide us with a wonderful selection of Italian finger food , hand delivered to our boat during 'Het Prinsengracht Concert' . Beautifully displayed , fantastic flavours , in one word : SUPERB !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Magnificent Jan Carlo & Ruby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

i was with a friend who requested a good healthy meal, not too much meats but fresh and light. We stopped off at an elegant small little place with a warm looking fella wearing shorts and glasses, They were closed but with the door open. Mr Shorts (who is the delightful Jan Carlo) welcomed us in, described in great detail what they had and where it came from (Azzuzo Italy) then promptly served up a tasty light spot hitting meal. I do not have enough space to write what we ate but can honestly say, it was truly pleasurable experience dining in this wonderful little establishment yet alone the tastes we sampled all washed down by there very own white wine. A real secret on the busy Haarlemmerdijk Best service, best food hence Best feeling. Thanks guys.. Hence returning home with a must to writing a review and sharing this wonderful experience. Please try for yourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo Mediterraneo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing