We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet and romantic place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Canal Suite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Canal Suite
Save
You added The Royal Canal Suite to your Saves list
Ranked #156 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet and romantic place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Michel and Ria were lovely hosts for this wonderful apartment, so much nicer than beng in an impersonal hotel room. Everything you could need is provided, coffee machine, bottle of Prosecco on arrival, biscuits and chocolates. Fabulous room hung with Michele's original art, luxurious bathroom with shower/steam cubicle and huge bath. Lots of space, and a little balcony to watch canal life over.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen1962_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Apartment was fantastic, has everything you would need.
A touch of luxury
Ria the owner is extremely helpful.
Location is absolutely perfect.
The nicest accommodation we have ever stayed in. Beautiful
Had the best time ever.

Amsterdam is just beautiful.
Lots to see and do
Good to people watch
Lovely bars and couldn't believe how much fun the red light district was.
Want to go back, 2 nights just wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cokeyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This suite is perfectly located in the heart of Jordaan district. With the canal view, quiet surroundings and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, you could hardly think of better location within walking distance to most of Amsterdam key attractions.
The suite itself is spacious and luxury equipped.
I highly recommend this place, it was one of the best I've stayed in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piikkio, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for two nights. The location was perfect, short walk to the tram line and there are many restaurants near by. I wish that next time we can stay longer. Great service all arround. I higly recommed this plase for anyone looking for that authentoc Amsterdam feeling. .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Located in the very chic and up and coming charlotte district in amsterdam, this apartment is a real gem. Its a 10 minute walk into the centre of the city but worth strolling through the beautiful canals on the way.

The space and decor of the apartment has a very luxourious feel to it. You recieve champagne on arrival and we were quite surprised with the expresso machine, cans of beer, jar of olives, nuts and biscuits for free! Only slightly more expensive then the standard central hotels, you feel like you are in a five star holiday at a very affordable price.

Also the electric thermal beds will keep you warm if you visit in the winter!

We stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful experience. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended for the romantic getaway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#146 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#170 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#172 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#75 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#25 of 219 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Canal Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Canal Suite

Property: The Royal Canal Suite
Address: Bloemgracht 81, 1016 KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing