We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful”

Restaurant Classico
Reserve with
Restaurant Classico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #523 of 3,762 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Description: Restaurant Classico is nestled between the narrow, little streets of South Amsterdam, boasting authentic Italian cuisine, fine wines and a romantic atmosphere. Our welcoming and cozy restaurant invites all guests to delve into a delicious pear and asparagus salad or spinach and cheese ravioli before heading out for a day of sightseeing in the city. We are located conveniently close to the wonderful Vondelpark and we are just steps away from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. Gather your friends and family together before an exciting concert and meet-up at Restaurant Classico, to be greeted and pampered by our friendly and attentive staff. Our place is also suited for organizing small events for groups. The relaxed atmosphere, the variety of dishes (including vegetarian meals and smaller portions for children) and the quick service will surely have you coming back for more! They say that eating outdoors is part of the Amsterdam experience! The good news is you can do that at our restaurant whilst doing some people watching, eating mouthwatering Italian food and drinking a fine bottle of Valpolicella Classico, all at the same time!
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

A secret delight, Great fresh food and special service. A great find in a confusingly difficult city for real food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsK1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

In Amsterdam for the day and found this restaurant when walking back to the car. Walked in and had a table straight away. The bite size bruschetta was delicious and the bread with olive paste very appetising. Both starter and main dish portions were good and extremely tasty. Tiramisu was creamy and worth the calories. Would certainly go back and recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very nice and cute restaurant just on the street in really peaceful area.
it was nice to seat outside... we ordered only one dish, rissotto and raviolli and it was perfect!
we had only 2 glasses of house wine which was also very very nice.
Atmosphere is nice and relaxing, so this is really nice restaurant to visit and experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paoulina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We discovered this place while trying to find somewhere else but it was a lucky find. We had pasta and risotto dishes that were both excellent. Parmesan to top these is scraped out of an enormous cheese then spooned onto your plate. A couple on the next table had tagliatelle with mushroom and parmesan sauce. The mushrooms were dumped flaming into the big cheese in order to melt it, the pasta added, then plated up. Quite spectacular, wish I'd ordered it!
Deserts were rather disappointing, my limoncello tart was creamy, slightly sickly, and certainly lacked any limoncello kick.
Nice Italian waiter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh Italian food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant obviously prides itself on fresh well presented food. We chose main meals of risotto and ravioli. The food was lovely but the portion size for the ravioli was disappointing. We were glad to have bread supplementing the meal.
For dessert we chose ice-cream and again the portions were small. The waiter was charming and friendly but we felt that compared to some other restaurants, providing equally tasty food, this was not good value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Classico also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing