We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect...Again”
other travelers have booked this property
Monument 1740s bell gable house overlooking the famous Prinsengracht
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monument 1740s bell gable house overlooking the famous Prinsengracht
Cosy ambience in the evenings Old features provide plenty of character, blending in with beautiful artwork
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Monument 1740s bell gable house overlooking the famous Prinsengracht
Cosy ambience in the evenings
Old features provide plenty of character, blending in with beautiful artwork
Kitchen opens to large dining table
Feature window allows you to sit and gaze out at canal life
Charming historic staircase;
Top of the range Jura coffee machine makes amazing coffee
Spacious chef's kitchen - fully equipped
Patio provides beautiful backdrop to upstairs living.  Laundry also opens to patio.
Relax reading or watching TV in front of a warm cosy fire
Snug couch in 2nd living room to watch TV
Main Living Room on first floor, with library of books
2 Living Rooms on first floor
View from the Amsterdam desk - cyclist passes by along the canal
Living Room - desk overlooking Pulitzer Hotel
Master Bathroom - bath and separate shower
Master Bathroom
The Master Bedroom, with walk in robe area
The Master Bedroom with TV (with walk in robe area)
2nd Bathroom / toilet (next to bedrooms)
The Queen Bedroom - 2nd bedroom can be 2 x king singles or joined for large double bed for couples
Laundry Facilities
The Building - angled towards the canal, window boxes featuring seasonal flowers
Entrance
View of canal from entrance - what a picture perfect way to leave the house each day!
Canal area surrounding New Holland House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Greg C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect...Again”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here 2 years ago and was not disappointed again. Everything is top quality. Location is excellent. Really appreciated coming back here after long days. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donz61
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“authentic and quaint”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved your beautiful Dutch house right next to the canal, it is beautiful. The kitchen is stunning with everything you could possibly need but our to the proximity of really good restaurants, takeaways and pubs we only cooked once! The upstairs sitting room is fabulous and we enjoyed looking at all the books and watching some DVD's on a wet day. Bedrooms are very comfortable the twin a bit of a squeeze if more than one person but adequate. Spotlessly clean Lynda!
Think if you are a light sleeper i would recommend earplugs! The church bells are very charming during the day, not so much at night! Also the construction work next door starts very early, i know thats nothing you can do anything about.
I'm giving it a 4 star as the stairs are really narrow and i am aware the they are very traditional but if you have a bad knee, you will struggle. Would highly recommend this property, its fab!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O
Spring, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The New Holland House was the nearest thing to accomodation perfection one could ever hope for, The attention to detail in every part of the house was outstanding. The location was the best, with easy walking access to literally everything. The only downside was the steepness of the stairs (it's Amsterdam, what can you do).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacaldwel...
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Out. Of. This. World.”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

No words can do this gem justice. Stunning, fabulous location, so comfortable after busy days, but equally enjoyable just staying in.

Truly sublime

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFNoel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best rental yet!”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a thoughtfully renovated charmer! The kitchen has everything you need to cook a big dinner, if you choose. The furnishings are comfy and cozy. Though renovated, the basics of an old Dutch home have been maintained, including the steep staircases. With small children, I'd ask for a few safety gates to be made available. The location is perfect - we walk a lot, but public transportation is a block away. The Nines are nearby for fun shopping. We found the beds to be comfortable and the whole house was immaculately clean. Rental perfection with a view of a beautiful Dutch canal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2016
We are glad you loved the experience - and yes, guest with small children can request the portable stair gate to be in place (we keep this off for adult guests).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaudH_12
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming House in Great Location for Tourists”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The owners had done an excellent job in restoring this old house. Not easy! I have first hand experience. It was lovely to have an open kitchen with an adjoining large table, where non working bees could sit and chat.

The location was excellent. As it happened I had stayed practically across the street at a hotel for 5 days, and had gotten to know parts of the neighborhood before my family arrived. Some great restaurants, but also some overly touristy crap places, etc. Yes, I would love to return to this neighborhood.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiP123
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful canal house in central location”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

New Holland House lived up to every expectation - we stayed for 3 nights with our 3 children aged 9,11,13 . The house is beautifully renovated and very comfortable. It was very clean and extremely well equipped. It does have steep stairs so may not be suitable for very young children. The location was perfect as we could walk everywhere and found the flexibility of being able to self cater made a big difference with the children . There is a supermarket and a tram stop just round the corner . I would definitely recommend this property it is a real gem and hope we can stay again when we return to Amsterdam .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing