We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frankendael Apartments
Ranked #48 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked 4 nights at the Frankendael Apartments, but unfortunately only got to stay one night! The neighborhood is great. Very safe, easy access to the tram right into the city and train station, and lots of conveniences like a supermarket, nice cafe, and a terrific ice cream shop on the corner. There is also a nice park right across the street. I also enjoy being a little bit away from the center of the city, which gives one more of a feel for what everyday life is like in a city. The Frankendael Apartments are great for giving this sense of being a "local."

The hotel was actually very nice--our room was clean, modern, and nicely furnished. We were a party of five and there was plenty of room for all of us. The kitchen was well-equipped, and the air-conditioning worked great, too. The owners were very kind, and even had a bottle of prosecco waiting for us when we arrived in the room. For the money, Frankendael Apartments is a great value.

Anyway, we stayed one night, and the next morning received a visit from three men who were Amsterdam city inspectors. They said that they were doing a routine check of hotels in the neighborhood. We answered a lot of questions and they wanted copies of my passport, hotel bill, etc. It was all very strange, but of course being in a foreign country we complied and tried to be cooperative. So they left and we went about our day exploring the city.

When we returned to our hotel at around 9:00 p.m. that night, we were surprised to find that the key to the room did not work. We found the owners downstairs, and they (very apologetically) explained that the city officials had shut down the entire hotel and "evicted" all the occupants! They explained that the officials had found some very minor fire code violations, even though they had all the necessary permits, etc. The problems, they told us, were things like doors opening in instead of out, lack of a fire escape (the latter didn't seem so minor, but again, they said that they had all the permits, so someone must have signed off on it regardless), and other minor infractions. "Where's our stuff?," we asked. The owners explained that they had tried to call us (they had left a message, but we did not have service in Amsterdam) to ask us to vacate the apartment by 5:00 p.m, but that since they didn't hear from us, they moved all of our things so that they wouldn't be locked in the apartment and therefore inaccessible to us. Our belongings were neatly gathered into a room and kept together (and of course nothing was missing). Needless to say, the whole things was very bizarre, and somewhat surreal. We were still jet-lagged, so it added to the weirdness! Anyway, as I said, the owners were very kind and extremely apologetic about the whole thing--they were clearly embarrassed and sincerely sorry. They had arranged for another hotel (3 rooms for our entire party) nearby and even drove us there.

So, while the hotel was great, and we loved the room, we did not get to stay there for the entire time we had booked. Because this whole incident was (presumably) not the fault of the hotel, I rate it "very good" as opposed to "excellent." Also, I thought the owners handled it as best they could. If they get their inspections/permits in order, I'm sure it could be "excellent"! I'm not sure if the hotel is open for business again, I hope they are, but I would check on the status before I booked!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trclewley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankendaelApartment, Owner at Frankendael Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We would like to thank our guests for their understanding and cooperation during the week our Apartments had to close for a minor repair. It seemed that some smoke detectors were not placed on the right spot. That has been taken care of so now we are as safe as possible again.

We would also like to apologize for all discomfort that was caused during that week. Also on behalf of the City Inspectors who were just doing their job to keep Amsterdam safe.
We also want to thank our guests for the wonderful reviews they wrote about Frankendael Apartments. We can assure our guests and our future guests that we will maintain this level of excellence. We are open for business and we will prove that we’re still as excellent as mentioned in those reviews. So check for yourselves. See you in Amsterdam at Frankendael Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely owner, our channel crossing delayed us by two hours, arriving very late at night, and he was very understanding.
Great location, beautiful park opposite, with supermarket and nice restaurants very close. Tram stop is right outside, and with children makes the visit much more interesting.
The apartments are impeccably clean, modern and well equipped. Interior decor is very calming, and makes the apartment very appealing.
Those stairs are very, very steep. The upper flats are not really suitable for the elderly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cathy4065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank amaiaa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Los apartamentos al frente tiene una luz y una vista muy linda del parque y por detras un deck para...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarlosE1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,975 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frankendael Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frankendael Apartments

Address: Middenweg 91-95, 1098 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $141 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Frankendael Park, these apartments come with free Wi-Fi, light decor and modern facilities. Frankendael Apartments are located in the Watergraafsmeer district, 4 km from Dam Square. The apartments at Frankendael all include a separate bedroom, a living area with a sofa bed and a flat-screen TV. Each has a kitchen with a dishwasher, gas hob and refrigerator. They also have a microwave and tea/coffee making facilities. The Hogeweg tram stop is just over 100 metres away and offers direct links to Rembrandtplein in 10 minutes. A supermarket is located 100 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frankendael Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing