We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming excellence”
Review of Senor Mostachio

Senor Mostachio
Ranked #859 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Senor Mostachio is a place to gather with your friends and enjoy fresh mexican streetfood! The food comes with great cocktails served inside our cool Mexican vibe restaurant or on our sunny terrace
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Unassuming excellence”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

After a visit to the Rijksmuseum, friends, had found this unassuming restaurant.
The owners are passionate on sourcing quality ingredients. A limited choice (3 starters, 3 main) will guarantee consistent excellence.
A welcoming and personal reception includes enthusiastic presentation of the dishes.
Wines had been carefully selected and were of very high quality.
Prices were very reasonable for this level of quality.
To be highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rickcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best in Amsterdam”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The best restaurant in Amsterdam for quality/price! All is cook at moment, and the quality is really high! Really nice the place with tipic holland's atmosphere and MOLTO SIMPATICO the boss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salvoscarcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very unassuming restaurant along the bank of the canal, and just a five minute walk from the Wyndham Hotel I was staying at.

My colleague and I found it by accident and we thoroughly impressed.

A simple but superbly executed menu; three Starters, three Main, a desert and cheese board. Not for you if you want to ponder a huge selection or want to eat you usual choice in every restaurant, but if you accept that each dish they have on the menu is excellently prepared, presented and complimentary to each other you will have a great meal.

The Owner and Chef are both clearly passionate about creating a restaurant that will gain a good
reputation and which will be here in ten years time. They took the time to explain what the dishes were and were clearly not just staff as you find in larger more expensive venues.

Will certainly return to this one

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackdog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fresh indeed”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

On a regular Thursday night Versch was fairly busy. A staff of two in the kitchen and one in the restaurant served about 30 people. This was achieved by serving a set meal, with three choices for first, three for seconds and two for desert. I had home smokes salmon, which was delicious. Torteloni followed, filled with mushrooms and truffle. Lovely. The chocolat soufflé was wonderful, not too soggy, not too dry, with a very brisk cacao taste. In the end we were astonished by the price of our meal that included a very nice bottle of American Chardonnay. Well worth a visit, don't come by car (finding a parking space is difficult).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service and beautiful location”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Amazing food and great service. Best carpaccio I've had in a long time. We had a lovely 3 course meal, the food delicious and beautifully cooked. Everything fresh as the name promises. The owner and the chef were all very helpful and friendly. The place is beautiful and the view of the canals adds to it as well. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anaualu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Mostachio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Senor Mostachio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing