We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average, not value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amigo Budget Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amigo Budget Hostel
Ranked #171 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average, not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This hostel seems to be more expensive than others I've stayed in and I think it's only because it's in Amsterdam. Cute, friendly place, the beds are clean, the people at reception are nice, but it is ridiculously small and the entrance is the steepest flight of stairs I've ever seen. It was very precarious, especially wheb stoned and lugging a giant suitcase. Anyhow, I would stay there again, but I'm sure there's somewhere better and closer to the centre of Amsterdam; amigo is a 30 minite walk from thr centre.

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    111
    58
    76
See reviews for
14
27
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Poor location - practically in the middle of nowhere - if you want to go to Amsterdam, I'd highly recommend the Leidesplein area.

The amount of stairs (a billion, at the very least), would have been forgivable had they not been so narrow and treacherous. The first lot of stairs to get to the hostel are narrow and stone, very easy to slip on, especially with luggage.

The common area had no atmosphere whatsoever. The people were not very friendly. Further stairs are required to reach your rooms- again, narrow and dangerous stairs. It's a long, thin and winding maze to get to the rooms, which were fine.

This was the most expensive hostel out of all the ones I have stayed in this summer during interrailing yet the worst. It was just about okay, but you could definitely find something better for less money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macaquecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and a group of friends went to stay in Amsterdam during the end of May. We originally intended to stay elsewhere but it was fully booked so we changed our reservations to this hostel. Reading the reviews on here I wasn't expecting much but at the same time thought to myself how bad can it be?

The management at this hostel were so inept we were lucky we found a place to sleep. The day before we were leaving for Amsterdam we received an email demanding that we pay the first nights accommodation upfront or face a cancellation of our reservation. Most of us were unable to pay this seeing as we had already exchanged our currency to Euros, we aren't made of money! Anyway finally one of us managed to pay the amount and we were ready to go.

We arrived at the hostel relatively late. All huffed up, sweaty and tired we just wanted to pay for our stay and go to bed. The receptionist then informed us that our room was unavailable and we were to be sent to another hostel. They tried to overcharge us, and we argued for a good time as to why we had to pay the full amount seeing as we already paid for the first night. Anyway he eventually explained that it was taken out as a deposit and would be paid back to us within a week, which is ridiculous not everyone has £100 that the can casually pay out. The receptionist did not understand basic maths and we had to explain everything to him which was tedious. His attitude stank and it was as if he didn't want to help us or explain anything at all. We tried staying friendly and polite but patience can only go so far. After speaking to the manager on the phone we eventually managed to get 20 euros knocked off our price seeing as we had to get a taxi half way across the city which actually turned out to be 30 euros.

We stayed the first night at another hostel they sent us to which was closer to the centre and much better, I would recommend it but for the life of me I can't remember the name. The staff were friendly there and the rooms were of a better quality. Arriving later that day at Amigo we were finally given our room, which had 6 beds when we actually paid for 7 and also didn't have a shower when we bought en-suite. We were so tired and fed up of dealing with their staff that we just begrudgingly accepted it.

The room was very basic as expected, and the toilet facilities were adequate. A word of warning the stairs are very steep and a lot of smokers congregate on the top of it to smoke tobacco and weed, not ideal for non-smokers. A lot of noise in the evening but that is to be expected. The location isn't bad. A bit off the beaten track there are coffeeshops, supermarkets, pharmacies and take-aways in the area, every thing needed really. Its also only a 15 minute tram ride to Dam square and the tram stop is right outside the hotel. Taxi from the centre to Amigo costed anywhere between 20-30 euros.


I can imagine I would have enjoyed my stay more if the staff were actually competent and didn't mess us around so much. However it wasn't to be that way and I would advise people to avoid it. Not worth the money, rather stay somewhere a bit more expensive but with reliable service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A friend and I came to Amsterdam for the Europa league final a few weeks ago, and I booked two nights at this place online because they said there was room. Booking fee of £18.

I was then emailed saying that there weren't actually any rooms. I asked for a refund and they said they would refund my money.

A week or so later, I hadn't received my money back.

I check my bank statement and they have taken another £70 off my card. I emailed them again and they asked for a picture of my statement. So I sent it off.

That was the last I heard from them, they aren't responding to my emails and their phone number is invalid.

I would steer well clear of this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frandrews14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After reading bad reviews I was initially worried about my stay, especially as I organised it for 2 others also. We started off in a 6 bed room, which was small but clean and had everything we needed. Lockers for each person, a sink and mirror which was an added bonus. The toilet and shower facilities were small but just what we needed.
After 3 nights we moved to a triple room which had 2 bunk beds, so really could be for 4. This was good.
The hostel was a 20 minute tram ride from the city centre but it was really easy to get around everywhere and only cost 7.50 for a day ticket.
Staff were polite and really helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliviatripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am living in the netherlands for about a year now and Amigo is the place to go for me whenever I need a place to stay in Amsterdam. Having experience in other Hostels here, I can say this option is a very good value for the money.
The Hostel is located on the west side of the city near Oosterpark, which is a good option if you want to avoid the madness of the centre for a few hours. Everything you might need like supermarket, cleaner, bank, coffeshops, pizza, parks are literarly across the street. There is also free internet and Tram 9 to central station stops on the street just outside the hostel. The hostel is very clean in general and the stuff is very nice and friendly, never had any problems. If you want to explore Amsterdam this is the best option to have a good rest for the night without spending so much money.

Room Tip: There are some stairs so you might consider choosing the lowwer floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Horrible place to stay.
We booked room for 5 people for 2 nights. It was busy time in the city because of the uefa europa league final game. When we arrived staff at the reception told us that our reservation is cancelled because of invalid credit card details. Nobody contacted us via mail or phone about this?!!?
Do they know that in 21st century you must use e-mail and internet when you are working especially in tourism??!!!
They gave us a room to sleep for the first night because it was late, but he told us that tomorrow we must leave the place. When we woke up in the morning I asked guy at reception ist there any free room because we want to stay one more night. He told me that he must call his boss. After call he told me that they have free room but the price is 70 Euro per person. 70 Euro for a budget hostel!!!!!
Terribly unprofessional staff!
WiFi did not work at all. 2 computers in the reception lobby were also broken.

Horrible experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninobv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#39 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#53 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Generator Amsterdam
#4 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Hostelle
#35 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#51 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Budget Hostel

Property: Amigo Budget Hostel
Address: Linnaeusstraat 199, 1093 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Amigo Budget Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Amigo Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing