We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Value for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amigo Budget Hostel
Ranked #189 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am living in the netherlands for about a year now and Amigo is the place to go for me whenever I need a place to stay in Amsterdam. Having experience in other Hostels here, I can say this option is a very good value for the money.
The Hostel is located on the west side of the city near Oosterpark, which is a good option if you want to avoid the madness of the centre for a few hours. Everything you might need like supermarket, cleaner, bank, coffeshops, pizza, parks are literarly across the street. There is also free internet and Tram 9 to central station stops on the street just outside the hostel. The hostel is very clean in general and the stuff is very nice and friendly, never had any problems. If you want to explore Amsterdam this is the best option to have a good rest for the night without spending so much money.

Room Tip: There are some stairs so you might consider choosing the lowwer floors.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Amigo Budget Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 430 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Horrible place to stay.
We booked room for 5 people for 2 nights. It was busy time in the city because of the uefa europa league final game. When we arrived staff at the reception told us that our reservation is cancelled because of invalid credit card details. Nobody contacted us via mail or phone about this?!!?
Do they know that in 21st century you must use e-mail and internet when you are working especially in tourism??!!!
They gave us a room to sleep for the first night because it was late, but he told us that tomorrow we must leave the place. When we woke up in the morning I asked guy at reception ist there any free room because we want to stay one more night. He told me that he must call his boss. After call he told me that they have free room but the price is 70 Euro per person. 70 Euro for a budget hostel!!!!!
Terribly unprofessional staff!
WiFi did not work at all. 2 computers in the reception lobby were also broken.

Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninobv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hostel is located 20/30 min from the central station, it can be easily reached with trams/buses all day long. Our room was really small and there were nothing inside it, no wardrobe etc...But it was clean, and so were showers and toilet.
The staff was gentle and available. We had no wifi in the bedroom and for that we had to Go to the hall.
The warm works well.
We payed a lot for this hostel considering its location and the offered services.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Alessio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed here for a stag party and it was very clean and tidy.
there were 8 of us in one room and it was a very friendly hostel and clean we enjoyed our stay very much and would stay here again. its about a 20 min walk to red light district so was noce not being in the busy central area and a very good coffe shop nearby.
hope your stay was as enjoyable as ours.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candycane1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was an extremely terrible and awful experience !
First, the hostel is far from the city centre
and when you arrive there, you have to climb a really steep staircase
When you try to check in,
you will easily be pissed by the staff there.
They act like it was the very first day of them to operate a hostel,
you can tell they have absolutely no idea what they are doing.
The check-in process was slow,
they even gave us an invalid room key card.
Moreover, it is quite dangerous to stay in this hostel.
Due to the design of the hostel,
in case of a fire
it will be impossible for all the people living there to escape!!
After climbing for a lot of staircase
we finally got to our room
It was winter, we tried to open the heater
but we CANT, and it was freezing
Moreover, we found that there was no stair of the bulk bed
Not to mention, they dont have wifi in the room.
We tried to ask them to fix the bed and open the heater when we went out to sightseeing.
They told us, the will only open the heater after a certain time! Seriously?
and they told us to find another bed in the room, cos the stair was missing, and they couldnt do anything to fix it
and you can tell they didnt have good attitude!
They only have one toilet per floor
the toilet is so small that you cant even turn inside it
and they only hv one bathroom on each floor
I just didnt try to take a shower there
Last , but not the least, the bed was dirty
It was cheap , but didnt even worth the price
seriously, I think sleeping in the train station is much more better
If you can have a better choice
pls DO NOT choose this one
It is much more worse than you can imagine

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SziaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights and I have plenty to say about this place but believe me, not much of it is good.

We arrived to find that the had "accidentally" cancelled our booking. We had booked for a 4 bed mixed dorm and due to the cancellation of our booking we were moved to a mixed dorm of 10. On the same level as the reception it was also the same level of the only smoking area of the hostel... enough said. There was only one bathroom for everyone to share that was really quite dirty and old. Also, I bought my own sheet and this was taken from my bed while out one day and they couldn't get it back for me. Not cool.

It's located quite a long distance from the city centre of Amsterdam, however there is a tram that runs almost directly from the front of the hostel.

Despite being in such a crammed room with dodgy facilities we were charged quite a large amount.

On the plus side, their free wifi was pretty great.

Overall, I didn't really enjoy my time here and was glad to move on with my travels. I wouldn't recommend this place unless you're looking for a place to get dirty, ripped off and stoned.

Room Tip: Just don't get a room here.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and were very impressed! The staff were friendly and all spoke fluent English. When we arrived they allowed us to check in early and leave our luggage locked in a spare room until ours has been cleaned.

The hostel is outside the city centre but there is a tram (number 19) with takes you straight through the middle of town and stops at the station. The surrounding area has shops, pubs and a large supermarket. Because it is just outside the centre there is also a great park a short walk away.

The stairs were steep but they are in every building in Amsterdam so it all adds to the character of the hostel!

Had a great stay at the Amigo Hostel and will recommend it to everyone who is travelling to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#52 of 238 in Amsterdam
615 reviews
Train Lodge
#42 of 238 in Amsterdam
51 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#203 of 238 in Amsterdam
176 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#48 of 238 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#36 of 238 in Amsterdam
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Budget Hostel

Address: Linnaeusstraat 199, 1093 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $31 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Amigo Budget Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amigo Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing