We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best ... definitely visit here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York steakhouse

New York steakhouse
Ranked #788 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ... definitely visit here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Burger was extremely tasty, service was the best we experienced in Amsterdam. Friendly! We had a few unfortunate experiences in other restaurants where the price was extortionate and quality and service was dreadful. This place is a hidden gem!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirl-8633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    18
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although the food was fine the service was not. The place was not busy when we went in and selected a balcony table. There was no reserved sign on the table but when we indicated where we wanted to sit the waiter was reluctant to let us have that table.
We then ordered our meal and a bottle of wine. After some time our meal arrived and while sitting there we noticed that some other tables were served a basket of bread while waiting for their meal to come. A young couple arrived and they didn't get bread either. When we queried this we were told that sometimes they forget to serve bread to tables. The staff were most unfriendly and as the place is very 'hit and miss' and I wouldn't go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonniepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a typical steakhouse venue and a typical steakhouse menu, but done very, very well. There is lot's of choice and the quality is very good too.

I would totally recommend the Prawns as a starter - perfectly grilled and very, very tasty! The steaks are all well trimmed and well cooked. The place was busy when we went, and they still managed to get a large table of food (15 of us) out at the same time and cooked as ordered.

Definitely worth a visit if you are craving steak!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
1,883 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5,515 helpful votes
“Only O.k”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in here for dinner with friends after our city tour. Food was reasonably priced, 4 mains and drinks for just over €60.
Food was average, but still nice.
Service was very good though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambiance, delicious meals...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Steaks were amazing and staff was very friendly. There are 9-10 little tables and not very suitaleble for 15-20 prs groups.
Everyone visits Amsterdam should eat at least once in this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Byrmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York steakhouse also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New York steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing