We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ... definitely visit here”

New York Steakhouse
Ranked #597 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The New York Steakhouse is the perfect place for a warm and cozy feel and for some excellent meat. Right here on the Leidseplein our elevator will take you up to our magnificent steakhouse with a prime view over the entire square from the third floor. Upon arriving in the elevator our host will give you a warm greeting and lead you to your table. Immediately you will notice our traditional inviting décor and our walls filled with pictures of New York. Soon after being seated, you will notice the magnificent view over the Leidseplein. During the summer you can see the busy terrace filled with people and in the winter you have a cozy view over the Christmas lights in the trees and perhaps even a snowy square. The New York Steakhouse sets the tone for a perfect meal above the Leidseplein! Equally as important as the setting of the tone, is the quality of our meat. Our well trained kitchen staff is sure to prepare a tasty T-bone steak, or even some spare ribs, exactly to your liking. Not only do we serve meat, we also serve fish and have a selection of vegetarian dishes. Our, and your, host will be expertly informed about all our products and will make sure you get the meat the way you want it. So come to the New York Steakhouse and we will make sure you get the perfect meal in the perfect place!
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ... definitely visit here”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Burger was extremely tasty, service was the best we experienced in Amsterdam. Friendly! We had a few unfortunate experiences in other restaurants where the price was extortionate and quality and service was dreadful. This place is a hidden gem!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirl-8633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    61
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Louth, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although the food was fine the service was not. The place was not busy when we went in and selected a balcony table. There was no reserved sign on the table but when we indicated where we wanted to sit the waiter was reluctant to let us have that table.
We then ordered our meal and a bottle of wine. After some time our meal arrived and while sitting there we noticed that some other tables were served a basket of bread while waiting for their meal to come. A young couple arrived and they didn't get bread either. When we queried this we were told that sometimes they forget to serve bread to tables. The staff were most unfriendly and as the place is very 'hit and miss' and I wouldn't go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonniepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a typical steakhouse venue and a typical steakhouse menu, but done very, very well. There is lot's of choice and the quality is very good too.

I would totally recommend the Prawns as a starter - perfectly grilled and very, very tasty! The steaks are all well trimmed and well cooked. The place was busy when we went, and they still managed to get a large table of food (15 of us) out at the same time and cooked as ordered.

Definitely worth a visit if you are craving steak!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambiance, delicious meals...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Steaks were amazing and staff was very friendly. There are 9-10 little tables and not very suitaleble for 15-20 prs groups.
Everyone visits Amsterdam should eat at least once in this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byrmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive location”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The burgers were really great, but a bit expensive. We were quite disappointed though because of the small coke bottles (0.2 liters), which were really expensive too! Nice atmosphere, the terrace is almost always full, but it is nice inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Steakhouse also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New York Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing