We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange and Disappointing Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mosaic City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
Ranked #55 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Strange and Disappointing Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the rooms are well furnished and the beds are comfortable.

However, calling this a Hotel is a stretch. The building is shared with other 'hotels', essentially groups of rooms with makeshift reception areas set over an outdoor quadrangle of sorts, with little-to-none of the usual hotel facilities.

The poor review score is based on our experience with the receptionist. Three rooms were booked in our party, one booking was cancelled as the pre-auth failed but they neglected to inform us. The receptionist had no rooms to offer, had no alternative suggestions, and had the cheek to charge us 35 euros for an extra bed to be added to what as already a quad room.

Disappointing experience, poor customer service, won't be returning!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank darrylstott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    295
    151
    76
    69
See reviews for
203
154
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We used triple room for 2nights. This hotel is recommended for its cleaness and safety. All of staffs are also kind. Its location is little bit far away from main sightseeing sites and they don't service any breakfast meal. But it is possible for all type of tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hwui
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Building: The hotel was built only a few years ago; but to reach my room I had to walk through the "courtyard" and this wasn't very nice in the morning with the fresh air...
Room: Although I had booked a normal "twin ensuite" (and not the small twin ensuite), the room was rather small. Rooms are essential but ok and very clean. Not very soundproof, I heard the people walking along the corridor. Showers without curtain or similar.
Location: a bit far from central station but close to the museums.
Other services: The staff is ok and you can have juice and the for free. They didn't answer a mail of mine.
Price: rather cheap (I paid around 50€).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomeDomeDome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I did find the hotel a bit hard to find, but once I was there I have to say I had a very enjoyable stay. I was only there for one night, and I'd booked very last minute (the day before), but the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well presented, the beds were amazingly comfortable, and the area felt safe.
The only negative point was that they gave me the key to a room with someone still asleep in it; but to apologise they upgraded me to a triple room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess31161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very modern. The people are very friendly and made discount with parking! Only the room is a little cold but it's ok for a one night stay. Also they offer free coffe at the reception. They give a free city map and tell about what to do around.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SBT08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from Amsterdam and stayed at the Mosaic. Calling this a hotel pushes the bounds of reality. The only thing place is suitable for is literally if you are a student or on a drunken stag night. If you expect anything better you'll be disappointed. As for security, ring the door bell on the ground floor and the door entrance to the block is opened then its straight up to the entrance door of the room. As you can see from the pic its extremely cramped for 3 people.

No way would we go back there.

Room Tip: Best advice I can give is keep walking past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited on 28th October 2013. Despite previous reviews the hotel was easy to find and had very good security. The neighhbourhood felt very safe especially when travelling with children. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful offered us free tea and coffee upon arrival. We had a triple room which was very clean with very comfortable beds. The only downside was the wet room which although it was very modern everything within it got vey wet when the shower was used.
Overall I would have no hesitation recommeding or returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezbopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#175 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#30 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#59 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#52 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#26 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mosaic City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mosaic City Centre

Property: Hotel Mosaic City Centre
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 16a, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mosaic City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mosaic City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing