We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #175 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No elevator”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Rooms are newly done hence the bathroom as well as the room furnishing is fine and the size is also okay. Reception is managed efficiently 24 hrs. The main problem was we had to climb up two floors with the luggage while the stairs were narrow and steep.

The room did not have any view, windows opened into a narrow courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divyat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    216
    172
    45
    39
See reviews for
64
238
57
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
212 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is within walking distance to the train and Metro stations. We had a flight of stairs to walk up because of where our room was located but that was ok. They do have an elevator. The breakfast had variety with some protein: cheese, two kinds of meat, and hard boiled eggs. The desk is manned for 24 hours a day.They were very attentive and most helpful. Wifi was available only in the main public areas. It was free and worked fine. It was on a very busy street but our room was in the back and so the noise did not bother us at all. I loved that this room had tons of plug in and they were in great locations. We have found this a problem in older hotels in Europe.I was pleased with my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Apparently it is a very busy time in Amsterdam right now. My recent college grad daughter and friends are travelling through Europe and had difficulty booking a room in Amsterdam. She had no idea how busy a time it is right now! But City Hotel Amsterdam responded to her request for a room but indicated upfront it would be in the basement. The girls were fine with that and appreciated the heads up. It was literally the last room in Amsterdam. They were very happy and booked their flights in and out accordingly. However, the day before they were leaving for Europe they got an email cancelling the reservation. (have literally never had a hotel cancel on me!) If there were alternatives to be had easily, this wouldn't have been a big deal, but we already knew from weeks prior how difficult it was to find a room... we were looking at hostels, hotels, vrbo, apartments and we had 3 different travel agents looking for anything under $200/night- which is a lot compared to what they are paying on the rest of their travels... The hotel tried to be a little helpful but didn't quite feel it was their obligation to find them comparable accommodations. When a nicer room became available for a higher price, they actually wanted to charge us the higher price which I found outrageous. They were the ones that were completely cancelling on us, leaving us in a big bind. I felt they should have done more to help us out and certainly if a room became available, not charge us more!! It was only for the 2 of 3 nights needed so it wasn't helpful and caused us to spend the entire day before they were leaving again on the phone, on the computer looking for a room. It was very stressful as the girls were not going to be able to easily work on this while they were travelling and needed to know that they had a place before they got to Amsterdam. To cancel and change their flights etc would have been costly. Fortunately, they found an apartment that was comparably priced that worked out perfectly. In fairness, I have to say that the next day we did get an email saying a triple opened up. By then, they were on the plane and had spent an anxious 12 hours on the phone/computer trying to secure another place to stay. Needless to say, they did not choose to stay at this hotel. Even other hotels in Amsterdam felt they should have done more to accommodate them if the room really wasn't available as promised. The call should have been... we are sorry to cancel, but we have secured you reservations at this comparable or nicer place nearby.... Fortunately all turned out well, the apartment on the canal was fabulous and they had a great time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very good location close to the train station, all places interest within easy walking distance. Room was small, but had all basic amenities (well, it could use a shelf for the toiletries). Breakfast was all right – boiled eggs, all you need to make sandwiches, cereals, fruit salad. Staff very helpful. Tours available at a discount, or at least you get to skip the ticket line.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga_K_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my hen party of 23 girls, its in a perfect location within walking distance of central station, Dam Square and RLD. Rooms were cleaned everyday and breakfast though not a huge selection was still fresh and tasty. Due to numbers we were split over various rooms including the apartments (sleep 6 though our rooms were messed up therefore did sleep 7) which were excellent, would highly recommend if you are in a big party as very spacious even with 7 beds and equipped with 2 bathrooms and kitchen area. Lobby/bar area and breakfast area aren't overly large but enough for a meeting point before heading out to see the sights. All staff were friendly and helpful, I do not believe we had any complaints against us for noise. The hotel has no lifts though this did not cause any problems for us but to note if you do have difficulty with stairs to ensure you request a low level room.
If you are visiting Amsterdam in a large party (hen/stag) weekend I would highly recommend hiring a beer bike and an organised bar crawl, this helped kick start the day and also take you to bars which you may not necessarily find on your travels, in a city you can sometimes wonder for hours looking for fun places to go
I would also recommend taking a hotel business card (on reception desk) to show taxi drivers the address as they kept telling us there were many 'city hotels'
Would definitely return to this city and use this hotel thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubank82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff are lovely,the room was clean but very small, it does have very comfortable beds and pillows. and we slept really well. We had no window just a skylight which was a disappointment as booked this room ages ago and was hoping for a canal view.
The décor is in need of a repaint in our room of 302, lots of chipped walls, there is a wet room with an excellent shower but we were subjected to the most horrendous smell from the sink or shower, we informed the staff but it didn't really improve. Thankfully we were out most of the time. We went armed with a kettle so lots of cups of tea possible. :)
The stairs are not for the faint hearted, the lift goes to floor 2 only, so a battle with the cases up to the top floor. It seems all old Amsterdam buildings have similar staircases, would be a hazard for the elderly or with young children.
Breakfast was fine, rolls, ham, cheese, cereal, I would recommend the tea cakes, downside, you can't toast them.
Central location for exploring, you will need a map.
We booked 2 excursions before travelling with Viator, we went on the city sightseeing tour which was really interesting then on a river cruise pm, you can go on the cruise whatever time suits you, which I liked.
We went on a walking tour of the red light district for safety reasons, it was crowded and a sight to be seen! (booked this when arrived, would have been cheaper if booked prior to travel)
The final tour was a 10hr which on reflection was exhausting.
Am was Keukenhof gardens, a must see with 3 hrs to wander around, a truly lovely place, but don't buy the tulips, they are much cheaper on the Flower Market on the Singal canal.
Then off to Zaanse Schans windmills which were nice, again pricy gift shops, cheaper on the Damrak road in Amsterdam city centre, same items.
Further trip to Marken to watch clogs being made (by this time in need of a cuppa), then a boat ride to Volendam, time for a quick tea, then to a cheese factory and finally back to Amsterdam.
On hindsight would have split the days, but pushed for time, and also cheaper to do as one trip.
Damrak is the main street with many shops, advanced warning crossing roads is a death wish due to the volume of bikes, a truly crazy place.
Great city to visit, walked many miles over many canals, transport system excellent from the airport to the city would recommend. Lots of drugs in the air as expected but cafes clearly marked so can avoid.
The Dutch people we met were very nice and they speak excellent English, a very enjoyable trip :)

Room Tip: Ask for a window view, only go on the 3rd floor if fully fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzaH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#193 of 368 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#206 of 368 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#200 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#127 of 368 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Property: City Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing