We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely comfortable beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #172 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely comfortable beds!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had one of the top floor rooms which sleeps 4, had a great view outside and large kitchen area (although we didnt use it). The beds were so comfy! There was so much room in the main area- they could have made the bathroom bigger and added a tub.

Walking distance to all the main areas. Staff were friendly and helpful, we were allowed to leave suitcases until our flight later on in the evening.

Breakfast was nice, pretty standard. cereals, cold meats and cheese and fruit.

The only complaint i have is the steep stairs esp when youre on the top floor!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    212
    170
    45
    38
See reviews for
61
235
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked a triple room for us and our 13 month old and 7 yr old. We booked it through a 3rd party website who said it had a travel cot. They didn't but as we had gone non-refundable we couldn't cancel it. After some complaining about misleading info and my hubby getting a bit shirty with both the hotel and the booking agent, the hotel gave us an upgrade to a 6bed apartment but we had to bring our own travel cot.
The staff were friendly and we could leave our buggy downstairs rather than carrying it up the stairs each time. The room was huge! It had 4 single beds and still had loads of room. We also had a separate double bedroom. The bathroom was small and didn't have a bath, but this wasn't too much of a problem. There was a kitchenette with fridge which was great.
The breakfast was fine, meats, cheeses, some cereals, bread and most importantly according to my eldest, Nutella (or something similar).
We would probably return to that room but not a smaller one, if we could afford it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

How anyone can complain about The City Hotel is beyond me!.....just spent the most enjoyable weekend stay here ,location is superb, 10 minutes from Central Train and only 10 minutes from the Red Light District.
Arrived at City Hotel and first impressions were more than favourable....booking in was effortless as was the ascent and descent of the steep stairs, even when inebriated or stoned(part of the parcel with most buildings in Amsterdam).
Was allocated room 203....huge king size bed with quality, pure white bed linen.The comfort of the bed was superb....believe me??....large modern toilet off room was great also....gallons of piping hot water and free shower gel which smelt and left you all cleansed.
I would most certainly stay here again without a doubt......breakfast was superb cleanliness superb and helpfulness of staff superb....thank you very much for an enjoyable stay and hope to visit soon in the near future,.













































































































The room temperature was almost like at the Bahamas.....never been but can imagine its nice and warm just like my room 203!!.
Breakfast which is inclusive in price was brilliant too....gallons of tea, coffee, toast,hot boiled eggs, fresh rolls of various varieties....just lets say it was faultless!!...plenty to eat and drink abd all super fresh

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin47143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a city break on valentines day, we absolutely loved the hotel! The price is just right, you get a lot more for your money! The location is perfect as it's only a 5 minute walk from the top tourist attractions such as Dam Square and the Red Light District. The staff were extremely helpful, very friendly and welcomed us into the hotel. We felt very comfortable on our stay. The breakfast (included in the price of the stay) wasn't bad either, although we really fancied a 'fry up' but then again it was also lovely having cheese, ham and rolls for breakfast! The hotel room was so nice that on one day we spent most of our time lounging around in the bedroom relaxing, there was no noise and it was so peaceful! The only disadvantage from the bedroom side of things was there was no kettle to make a cup of tea etc, and the day we arrived the toilet smelt of sewage but that soon disappeared. All in all it was a lovely hotel and Amsterdam is a beautiful place (it was our first visit to Amsterdam) and we are sure to say we will defiantly be visiting this hotel again. Thank you city hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMelanieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great hotel near to the train station and the red light district. Rooms were comfy and warm with good, clean facilities. Staff were very helpful and it was surprisingly cheap considering the location and facilities.

Room Tip: 9 of us stayed here and some of the rooms were a bit small but our twin room was fine. The stairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in this hotel. Arrived at 09:00am and they gave us a room straight away even though check in time is usually 14:00...even told us to help ourselves to breakfast since the buffet was still out. Within walking distance of everything and right beside the train station. Really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. Let us leave our bags in storage before we left as we had time to kill before we had to catch our train. Very accommodating and friendly staff

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#179 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#194 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#189 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#186 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Property: City Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing