We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #178 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was there in august 2013. the hotel have a lot of "+":
1. a perfect location! It's near to railway station (near 10 min.) and it is situated in the city center!
2. the stuff is pleasant, kind,attentive
3. the room with a new and a nice furniture
4. a good price for a room if compare with other hotels
5. the brakfast inclided! I can't say that it is a very varity,but you can eat a toast, flakes, eggs and drink coffee/tea/juce.
6. hotel is located in a historical old building!

But there are two negative things:

1. the walls are thin. I've heard most of what my neighbors are doing.
2. on hotel's website there isn't information that room type "Standard Double Room" has a ceiling for people with a maximum height of 1.76 m. My height is 1.82 m. and I was tilted all the time.

But I like this hotel! It is very cute and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    187
    157
    40
    36
See reviews for
56
202
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The City Hotel in Amsterdam is good for a night or two. The location is great just across the street from the central train station. The rooms are small but sufficient for Amsterdam as most of the time is spent out and about. It is similar to a hostel but each room has bathroom. Walking distance to many café bars restaurants. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wholenessmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had to stay there on business as that week overall occupancy in Amsterdam Hotels was very high due to the boat show and other events. The staff were friendly and obliging. I was given a room at the back which was just as well as there is no air-con in the rooms. To get to it I had to climb a couple of staircases. The room was functional - the bed was comfortable and there was an ensuite toilet and shower. The TV was very limited with less than 20 channels, most of them Dutch. I had to leave the window open due to the temperature and there was quite a bit of noise from outside until almost midnight - then it was fine. The breakfast was average and there was no fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front side of the hotel to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HielanDrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The City Hotel Amsterdam is very centrally located. About ten minutes from the train and the red light district. The room was small, with low ceilings but everything worked and for the price this is a great place for a few nights!

The breakfast was reasonable with cereal, breads and spreads as well as facilities to toast.

The receptionist Ismael was a great help supplying us with the information we needed to catch the train out to see the windmills. He even told us the train platform.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusGirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel end of June 2013, clean not very far from centraal station and other attractions.
Poor breakfast, and somehow weird but maybe typical European staircases.
Staff were cool.
Neighbors were very noisy, make sure you ask them to slam the doors quietly as the doors are quite adjacent to each others in some sections of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hussein t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I was searching for a hotel on booking.com and came across City Hotel. The name itself sounds dodgey but the photos on the website looks promising so we decided to book it.

I was disappointed as soon as we arrived. I chose the room that's supposed to be on the first floor and when we got there it was actually on the third! So we have to carry our luggages 3 flights up on a non elevator building. I am from NY so I am used to walk ups but the fact that they lied on their website that its on the first floor when it actually isn't is unforgivable! I made it a point to get a room on the first floor because I know how the buildings are in Amsterdam.

Next, when we got to the room - our bed sheets and pillows were not clean and arranged. It looked like someone was just there before us! I've never been to a hotel like this! I know it's not a five star hotel but its really disgusting to arrive in your room like that. I went back to the reception and told him the story and all he did was hand me fresh sheets so I can change it myself! Unbelievable!

On our last day they charged us for not checking out on time. I have never experienced this in any hotel!

I am very disappointed and unhappy customer and hopefully this review will help other people.

I do not recommend this hotel. You can get a better deal somewhere else for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farrochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#179 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#200 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#183 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Property: City Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing