We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Centraal Station, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #167 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The location is great, just a few minutes' walk to Centraal Station.

The staff was cheerful and helpful. A short time before our trip, we called and asked [because there were 4 of us] if we could change our reservation from two double rooms to one quad. Although it saved us quite a bit, they thanked US, saying it freed up those rooms for two other parties. Also, when my 80-ish parents arrived [a few hours before we did], the staff kindly carried their bags up to the room.

Our room was simple but clean. Yes, the rooms are not large and the stairs are steep, but hey, it's in densely-populated Amsterdam, not on the wide-open plains of West Texas.

Despite what a few others have written, I thought the breakfast was perfectly adequate. As a small family-run establishment in Europe, I wouldn't expect them to serve a large American/British style breakfast. If I want that, I could always stay some place like the Hotel Intercontinental. (Of course, at 5 times the price!)

Room Tip: Our room was in the back and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 618 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank babajimi s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Comfortable, good internet speed, located in the heart of the city near places like Amsterdam Dungeon, Dam Square, Red Light District, Railway Station, Cab facility available, accepts all kinds of credit cards. You can also get information for sight seeing in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahuljain10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Cheap and cheerful - great location only a few minutes walk from Central station and close to bars and restaurants.

If you're after somewhere to get your head down at the end of the day, and be in a fantastic central locatio so you can get out and about and see the sights this is a great hotel

Clean and functional, the beds were comfortable and the room as a decent size - for the price, I think it was great and I'd stay there again, you get what you pay for

24 hour reception was great, and they let us have a late check out no problem at all

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly-annManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Geert P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Ideal if you have a busy trip to Amsterdam planned as its basic your not going to spend any great deal of time in the place!, rooms are clean and comfortable, Bar open 24 hours (although having some large bottles of water available would be helpful) Usual shocking continental breakfast of ham eggs and toast (make a butty out of it and then get a full grill at the Irish bar around the corner!) Great for groups too not great if your taking the wife!

Room Tip: Avoid the basement!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshireatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#204 of 373 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#201 of 373 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#155 of 373 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#176 of 373 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#141 of 373 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $123 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing