We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #172 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    209
    169
    44
    38
See reviews for
61
229
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

too much noises beacause there are not double glass on the windows and we are located on the passing street.
one bed was broken.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My review is about City Hotel, Prins hendrikkade 130 amsterdam.
Go only if u don't have any other choice and price.

The location is good. The staff is friendly. But the rooms are bad. They have renovated some part of the hotel. First I got a room in the downstairs, the size and cleanliness was OK for me, as I was alone and just need to spend couple of nights. The room looked to be new and good. But there was no ventilation, neither AC, also u can hear people talking from other room, and walking on the upper floor. I asked the receptionist to change the room, which I got next day, but it was even worse. I had to think whether still rooms like this exist in Europe. It was not like a room, a narrow passage to keep your baggage, and a bed. The toilet space and wash basin were very tiny. This was a bit cold room, as the window were not great.
The good point is that the view from the window was great, looking towards the chinese restaurant sea palace. Breakfast was good, though being a Veg I had only bread and butter.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinothKhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place is nice for a solo traveller as long as you are not expecting to much. Room had been recently rennovated however I was in the basement. Room had windows but could reach to open them. This wasnt such an issue at the end of the day. The windows provided adequate natural light.
Nice an close to the station, 15-20min walk and only same into town through the back streets. Seriously take the time to navigate the back streets, you will get places quicker and find some interesting stuff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Travis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I've stayed in Amsterdam a few times and have finally become savvy as to the BEST locations. This hotel genuinely is the best location for a wide audience (not just the youngsters but also the older crowd looking for museums, culture and attractions as opposed to bars and cafe's).

The thing that must be noted is this place is NOT a hotel, it's quite simply a hostel. Toilets are not in bedrooms and rooms are made-up of several single beds. City HOSTEL! I wouldn't recommend it to families with youngsters as you could be next door to a noisy group, but then again... for the price and location it might be worth the risk (I'm sure they'd move rooms if requested).

We were on the first floor so no complaints of steep stair climbs etc. The reception staff were friendly and the foyer is very clean, tidy and welcoming. It's also a nice seating area for breakfast (although I didn't try the food).

I thoroughly recommend this place for couples and friends, young and old. But probably not for children.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugearsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Perfect for a hen party of 14. Basic rooms which were quite small but adequate as a base.
Service was very good-extra blankets when required, clean towels when requested. Allowed guests to change rooms for their own reasons. For example, someone who needed a ground floor room was moved to the ground floor. Staff were helpful with providing information on how to get to various attractions, booking taxis and looking up informtion on the internet and making enquiries over the telephone.
Location was good-near enough to the centre, 15 minutes from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank pinktinks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#175 of 364 in Amsterdam
174 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#195 of 364 in Amsterdam
196 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#191 of 364 in Amsterdam
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
864 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,155 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#183 of 364 in Amsterdam
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Property: City Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing