We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Screaming Beans

Screaming Beans
Ranked #184 of 3,562 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Located in the vibrant 9 straatjes we serve here since 2007, the best quality coffee. A place where locals, expats and tourists gather to enjoy casual manner of the personal attention that they are welcomed by our passionate baristas. Make sure to try once our delicious offerings breads and pastries!
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast with good quality coffee. Fruit juice is made blended fresh from the fruit - nice. Friendly staff and good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lehmann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    71
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and friendly spot for coffee, tea and delicious sandwiches (try the "healthy sandwich"). Less a tourist spot then local but don't let that put you off, in fact it's s reason enough to get away from the backpackers. Good value, nice people, elegant Amsterdammers and nice food and beverage.

Helpful?
Thank JLATL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We had the breakfast option and it kept us going for the 3 hour walking tour. Great coffee and excellent homemade marmalade.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Cool place amongst the 9 streets with lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Server was very pleasant and attentive with particular attention paid to our fussy eating

Coffee was strong and very good and sandwiches were a nice stop off refuel during our miles of walking the canals

2 OJs. 2 coffees and 2 sandwiches was €26 (without tip) which may feel rater pricy however we found the atmosphere and clientele consistent with our tastes

Our hotel receptionist mentioned it - thanks to Canal House (see my other review)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's months later and I still remember how great this breakfast was! I had eggs, ham, cheese, and croissants, with fresh orange juice and a cappuccino, all at a reasonable price. The croissants were the best I've ever had, fresh, light, and flaky. The marmalade is made inhouse and absolutely incredible too! I wish I'd been able to buy some to take home with me. The staff were friendly and provided good service. I look forward to going back next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screaming Beans also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Screaming Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing