We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good... but sort out the bed sheets!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Ranked #334 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, England
14
Reviewed August 11, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hampshire from 4th-8th August 2005. We chose this paricular hotel mainly because of the price. It is very good value for money, a lot of the other hotels in Amsterdam can be very expensive. Its only a 10 minute journey on the number 25 tram from Dam square (approx 8 or 9 stops) and the trams run about every 10 minutes, the last one being at midnight. The guy on the reception at night is really nice too... he had no problem opening the bar for us when we rolled in at 1:30am!!!

The only down side is the bloody bed sheets!!! On reading past reviews, I noticed that this had been mentioned before and it really is rather annoying.... Why can't they just buy some bigger bed sheets???

Having said this though, I wouldn't let this put you off staying there. As I said before, Amsterdam can be quite pricey with regards to accomodation and this hotel definately offers good value for money.

PS - I love Amsterdam - its a fabulous funky place!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2005

I agree with other reviews hat this hotel has a lot of positives, it's obviously fairly new, nicely furnished, helpful staff and it is located in the Pijp, for me one of the best parts of Amsterdam together with the Jordaan. It's a short 10minute tram journey to the traditional tourist areas of Dam Square and the RLD but only a 2 minute walk into an area very popular with twenty and thirty-something locals and packed with excellent restaurants and bars/cafes. Everyone is extremely friendly towards tourists as they tend to be fewer in number and not of the 'lads-on-tour' variety.

On the other hand, the hotel could benefit a great deal from some minor adjustments. I'm pretty thick skinned having stayed in some questionable places whislt travelling etc but I find it pretty grotty waking up in the middle of the night to find your face directly on the mattress because the bed-sheet is too small for the bed and there is no mattress-protector, goodness knows whose face was last there. My wife actually had to take anti-histamine tablets for a rash she woke up with having virtually discarded the bed-sheet during the night. Also, I prefer a double room to be a double room, not a twin, especially on a romantic weekend away! Finally the air-con clicks continually when it reaches the correct temperature, this woke us up both nights so we had to get up to switch it off, you can't open the windows so in summer it's too hot for comfort.

It would cost very little to make the necessary improvements that would secure this as a first choice alternative to the more expensive central hotels. If they did this I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St Pete Beach, FL
14
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Excellant location and a very helpful and friendly staff. I would recomennd to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
cotgrave nottingham
16
Reviewed March 2, 2005

We stayed at the Hamshire Savoy in Amsterdam recently. It was a new hotel, very nicely finished, the staff were very helpful, the breakfasts were good, nice clean calm atmosphere, and small bar for a nightcap. It was a little way out from the centre but there was a Tram stop outside which made getting around really easy once you got used to the system. You get a strip of tram tickets from the nearby supermarket to get started and if you go to central station you can buy a 24, 48 or 72 hour bus ticket which once you have had it stamped you just show when you get on the trams, it is valid on the tram, bus and night bus, good value for money! Get a good map and you will be able to find your way around quite easily. I bought a folding map from Rembrants house which was very good and easy to understand big print and pictures for those of us who need glasses to read the small print!!! We had a great time.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2005

We chose this hotel as it was a lot cheaper than hotels in the city centre, it turned out to be very decent. The decor was nice enough, we even got a proper double bed (not two singles pushed together), but I agree about the comforter and sheet thing - would have been nice to have some real bedding!

Getting to Centre of town was really easy and only cost 1.60 each way, took about 10 minutes to get there on the tram. I'd recommend it for those who don't want to spend too much on accommodation and don't mind the travelling to and from town.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amcoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
113
Reviewed August 30, 2004

My wife and I stayed at this hotel and paid 75 Euros per night for a double room. It was okay, I don't really regret staying there, but I'd look around for something else first next time.

The hotel is brand new so everything was pretty spotless and nice. The room was comfortable and the bathroom very nice -- big bathtub!

But, the negatives started to get annoying. The double bed was actually two twins pushed together. It was either sleeping 50s style (goodnight honey) or slipping down into the crack between the beds during the night. The bare mattress was covered with just a flat sheet and a comforter on top -- okay, I've seen that before here in Europe but it's pretty disgusting. You move around a little bit and discover the sheet is on the floor and you're lying naked right on the mattress. And your *** is probably not the first the mattress has met.

There were a few other minor inconveniences, but otherwise the hotel is nice, comfortable, and enjoyable. The BIG negative though is that this is not in the center of town. There are a few restaurants and shops in this area, but if you want to go down to the REAL center, it's 15 minutes on the tram or bike. Right now, the street that leads to the center resembles war-torn Beirut -- in the midst of construction, so you have to detour around it.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Victorie
#261 of 371 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
#110 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,769 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#282 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $135 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing