We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Was impressed with the rooms-shame it's a little far from the centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Ranked #315 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was impressed with the rooms-shame it's a little far from the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

On arrival I was pleasantly surprised by the lovely modern rooms.air-conditioned, electric beds, bath and shower and flat screen tv, safe in the room.
Couldn't ask for more.I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here.
The tram to Amsterdam centre is two streets away now so a bit of a trek if you don't like walking.
My only gripe that on arrival we were told the coffee machine was complimentary at all times so helped ourselves the next morning and €5 was asked for.not a big deal but not complimentary .i would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    87
    78
    44
    50
See reviews for
18
102
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

good hotel, all facilities good and great breakfast. staff were helpful but it would be good to have a better bar for guests to relax in. near the rai so there a good selecrion of restaurants near. for me it was a pleasant walk to work through a nice neighbourhood

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is about 30 mins from the main Dam Square. A bit of a walk to the market then number 16 or 24 tram will take you there.
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Night staff were 2 fairly young girls who didn't have much local knowledge but were friendly. Room was clean and tidy and plenty of accessories in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable, room wasn't huge but it suited my needs a agile business traveller

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

A lovely stay at the savoy and the hotel staff were very helpful with tram numbers etc.. Clean tidy rooms and couldn't believe that we had electric beds! Had a nice stay here for 3nights the only bad thing I could say is that it's quite a way from the dam but everything else was lovely

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordanpinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The street noise is an issue for this hotel, our room was on the first floor and faced the main road where trams and traffic were constant. We did get a room change and the third floor was much quieter.
Breakfast was fine and done the job, all you can eat.
A good selection of restaurants within comfortable walking distance.
Hotel is ok but not great and slighlty overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had a room on the first floor. The noise from street was terrible but luckily I was tired enough not to care after a long journey. The other minor irritants included a curtain covering a full wall but behind it only a small window (this is one thing I don't like- finding a solid wall behind a curtain- feels like being cheated) and the check-in clerk on duty that night who had a terrible accent (I could not differentiate between his "passport" and "password" for instance) and who gave me a wrong password to the wifi. But the room itself was a delight. Very artfully decorated, lots of colours, curves, angles on the walls, on the floor carpet, tapestry and even the furniture. Just sitting in the room is quite pleasing. For a business traveler like me, the best thing was the FOUR electrical outlets, right next to bed for all my recharging needs. The next morning, things improved. I found myself dealing with different staff who were not only competent but very helpful indeed. I will go here again, if I had a chance.

Room Tip: Avoid street-facing rooms, especially on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#297 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
#88 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Hotel Victorie
#250 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#210 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing