We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable stay but a 20min tram from the dam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Ranked #332 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable stay but a 20min tram from the dam”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A lovely stay at the savoy and the hotel staff were very helpful with tram numbers etc.. Clean tidy rooms and couldn't believe that we had electric beds! Had a nice stay here for 3nights the only bad thing I could say is that it's quite a way from the dam but everything else was lovely

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordanpinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    92
    88
    52
    62
See reviews for
22
109
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The street noise is an issue for this hotel, our room was on the first floor and faced the main road where trams and traffic were constant. We did get a room change and the third floor was much quieter.
Breakfast was fine and done the job, all you can eat.
A good selection of restaurants within comfortable walking distance.
Hotel is ok but not great and slighlty overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had a room on the first floor. The noise from street was terrible but luckily I was tired enough not to care after a long journey. The other minor irritants included a curtain covering a full wall but behind it only a small window (this is one thing I don't like- finding a solid wall behind a curtain- feels like being cheated) and the check-in clerk on duty that night who had a terrible accent (I could not differentiate between his "passport" and "password" for instance) and who gave me a wrong password to the wifi. But the room itself was a delight. Very artfully decorated, lots of colours, curves, angles on the walls, on the floor carpet, tapestry and even the furniture. Just sitting in the room is quite pleasing. For a business traveler like me, the best thing was the FOUR electrical outlets, right next to bed for all my recharging needs. The next morning, things improved. I found myself dealing with different staff who were not only competent but very helpful indeed. I will go here again, if I had a chance.

Room Tip: Avoid street-facing rooms, especially on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy in mid August 2013 and were quite satisfied with the room. Breakfast was quite satisfactory also and the Hotel itself was about what we expected. Our only complaint really was that it was a long way out of the centre of the city but then again we did not enjoy the centre of the city so make of that what you will. There were many nice little eating places in the vicinity which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the SAVOY HOTEL in August 2013 for 4 nights. We booked from the hotel’s website for about € 110,00 per night including breakfast.
The rooms seem to be ok, but a little bit bad maintained. The second day, we changed rooms as in the first room there were two TVs, the one did not work and the second did not have a remote control. At the second room, the TV was ok but there was a problem with the wash basin. So during all our stay, we were used in having water on the bathroom’s floor. Also, the switches in both bed’s sides were naked. The switch’s covers were absent. We informed the reception for both problems, but they didn’t fix them during our stay.

It is not a 4 star hotel for sure! The breakfast is not for a 4 star hotel as well! The breakfast closes at 10:00. Don’t go after 09:30 as they do not refill!

Still there are some pros, as you can get coffee for free all day and the tram station is right across the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gianna-Dimitris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

An overall good experience with the Savoy Hotel, despite initial hiccups.

I booked with the Savoy a few months before travelling via their webiste and the cost was paid for by someone else, as it was a gift. Upon arrival we were asked to show the card by which the room was paid for, but were unable to do so as it was a gift. We were not allowed into the room until this was sorted. The online and email confirmation mentioned nothing of this before, but the problem was resolved after a scan was sent through via email. The website said that breakfast was included in the price, however once we got there we were told we'd have to pay 15 euros for breakfast. Once we cleared this up we went to our room, which was in the basement.
This room was not satisfactory. Because it was in the basement, there was not a lot of light coming in the window at all. We could just see a wall and the pavement at the top with people's feet in view as they walked by. The wifi was not working properly in this room. It was gloomy, too small and we didn't feel it was worth the money.
We asked to change rooms, and were given a room on the first floor - and what a difference! The room was spacious, with a big window and light streaming in! The bathroom was clean and spacious too. We had a two beds pushed together to make a double, but this was not really a problem. They were extremely comfortable! The air conditioning was also working great and the sizeable flat screen television had lots of channels. The wifi also worked really well in the second room.
The breakfast was average but it did the job. The room was set out very nicely. There were a few different things to eat like fruit, yoghurt, bread, croissants, and - to my delight- nutella! As I say, it did the job, but I don't think I would have paid 15 euros for it.
The staff were overall friendly, however when we had our initial problems I didn't feel that they were as helpful as they could have been. We were clearly young folk who would have benefited from a little more customer service when we first arrived. Overall they were pleasant (especially those in the breakfast room).
The hotel was in the perfect location for us. The tram stop is literally just up the road from the front door, which we found very beneficial. The 25 tram goes right up to Centraal Station via all the tourist shops, national monument, royal palace, restaurants, and places to go on canal rides. Excellent location!
Our overall experience with the Savoy Hotel was great - once out initial problems were solved!

Room Tip: Basement rooms are a bit gloomy - avoid if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katieekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Savoy Hotel is well placed for business congresses taking part at the RAI congress centre; it is walking distance. That is all there is to say about this hotel. Rooms are dark, there is no fresh air (even smelly at times), and the internet is not always working. When I complained about the internet, the staff was really unfriendly and rude.

In addition, you are asked to pay for the whole period of your stay upon arrival. I never experienced this before, and it is quite outrageous to ask from customers.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, only a mediocre breakfast service.

I stayed for 6 nights in this horrible hotel, as you can understand, since I had to pay the full bill upon arrival!

All in all the hotel is basic, unfriendly and run down, don't go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ML-DK-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
#106 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,731 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#217 of 368 in Amsterdam
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#278 of 368 in Amsterdam
184 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#170 of 368 in Amsterdam
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing